Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Avatarium: An Evening with Avatarium

Notably, I have always wanted to listen to the illustrious grasps of the efficiently profound Swedish Doom rockers Avatarium but remarkably I have never actually got around to it or really got the chance of doing so as such and from recently repeatedly listening to a live benefaction to commence my audible efforts to delve deep into an intensely-situated backlog of the unlighted doomy-blues infused discography from the Stockholm based quintet, I Was immensely impressed from the first emergence of the majestically-imposing contemporary opening track ‘Voices’ from the band’s most recent pioneering and tastefully-driven output The Fire I Long For; releasing the vintage vibes of the groove-laden effects and keyboard layered constructed musicality into the whims of the ambience live from the prominent Swedish capital of the alluring city of Stockholm.

Endearingly combusting the whimsical charms of the doom-fulfilled chasms of the eminently assembled musicianship of this proficient elite fronted by the masterly accomplished vocalist Jennie-Ann Smith, we jubilantly endure on a magisterial pilgrimage ingeniously paying homage to the likes of the Heavy Metal and Hard Rock giants Deep Purple, Candlesmass and of course Black Sabbath whilst visiting present-day doom-pop behemoths Ghost, heavily-immersed doom-squad Lucifer or the atmospheric Dutch gloomy metallers The Gathering; hitting down the gigantic bulwarks expansively crashing and surging through the brawny foundations with the mightily manufactured dim-lit modelling current blues heavyweight number ‘Shake That Demon’, the alluring touch of the punchily-imposing musical chamber ‘Rubicon’ and the embracingly-famed championing tune of ‘Pearls and Coffins’ that bewilderingly wins over the crowd with the upmost waves of instantaneous devotion.

Furthermore, live endeavours are not invariably products I reach out for consistently, however on the contrary in the vigorous essences of this occasion Avatarium achievably grabbed my absolute attention from the offset and with excerpts from all their back catalogue on this exceptionally fabricated evening of intelligently distributed Doom Metal/Rock from the cold Scandanavian homeland of Sweden; heedfully tying down the knots with the outstanding finale of the mellifluously formed ‘Girl with the Raven mask’ and the astounding contribution from where the story all started in the shape of the appealingly-hefty composition of ‘Moonhorse’ from the groups debut record.


  1. Intro
  2. Voices
  3. Rubicon
  4. Into the Fire/Into the Storm
  5. Lay Me Down
  6. Jennie-Ann Talks
  7. Avatarium
  8. Shake That Demon
  9. Pearls and Coffins
  10. In My Time of Dying
  11. Medusa Child
  12. The Sky at the Bottom of the Sea
  13. Jennie-Ann Talks 2
  14. The Fire I Long For
  15. Girl with the Raven Mask
  16. Stars They Move
  17. Moonhorse

Added: January 12th 2021
Reviewer: James Mannion
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 768
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by