Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Moonpedro And Goldfish: The Beatles Revisited

Pedro Carmona-Alvarez is a Chilean born musician and author, now residing in Bergen, Norway. On his 2018 release titled The Beatles White Album Revisited he teamed with The Gold Fish which includes Anders Bitustøyl (double bass, bass, saxophone, guitars, flute, vocals), Einar Sogstad (organ, piano, synth, programming, saxophone, percussion, drums, guitars, bass, vocals) and Lars Heintz (drums, percussion, guitar, vocals).

On the album they cover the momentous task of redoing the iconic White Album from 1968. They attacked the project as great admirers of the original piece but are not afraid to turn it upside down, twisting and bending the music to fit their own perspective. Suffice to say this is as far from a carbon copy anyone could hope to achieve. So much so that some of the songs are hard to recognize as Beatles’ compositions. This is not a bad thing, especially when dealing with such a classic album. Why not try to make it your own, using creativity and imagination in both compositional and improvisational forms. The aggressive, punk-like version of “Back In The USSR” is a good example. Deadpan talking vocals and some neat synths adds a different dimension from the original. I’m not saying it’s better, it’s just different. “Dear Prudence” is atmospheric and trippy and “Glass Onion” features some nice saxophone. “Happiness Is A Warm Gun” breaks into a sort of ‘50s pastiche and is super catchy, as is ”Martha My Dear” where country music is lightly touched upon. It is this diversity of sounds and genres that makes this music near impossible to pigeonhole. More favourites include “Birthday” with its earworm vocals, a neat take on “Yer Blues” (the processed vocals sound so cool) and the sparkling feel good pop of “Mother Nature’s Son”. The irresistible “Sexy Sadie” is another tune that stuck around in my head long after the music stopped.

Reconstructing and deconstructing Beatles’ tunes could not have been an easy task but I have to say this album is a complete success. If you are a Beatles’ fan I recommend you come in with an open mind. Just remember, sometimes change is good.

Track Listing:
CD 1
1. Back In The USSR
2. Dear Prudence
3. Glass Onion
4. Ob-La-Di-Ob-La-Da
5. Wild Honey Pie
6. The Continuing Story Of Bungalow Bill
7. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
8. Happiness I s A Warm Gun
9. Martha My Dear
10. I’m So Tired
11. Blackbird
12. Piggies
13. Rocky Racoon
14. Don’t Pass Me By
15. Why Don’t We Do It In The Road
16. I Will
17. Julia

CD 2
1. Birthday
2. Yer Blues
3. Mother Nature’s Son
4. Everybody’s Got Something To Hide
5. Sexy Sadie
6. Helter Skelter
7. Long, Long, Long
8. Revolution 1
9. Honey Pie
10. Savoy Truffle
11. Cry Baby Cry
12. Revolution 9
13. Good Night

Added: December 29th 2020
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 471
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by