Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hittman: Destroy All Humans

New York's pioneering, and often forgotten, classic metal/power metal veterans Hittman are back after a decades long absence from the scene with a brand new album, titled Destroy All Humans. With much of the original line-up intact, vocalist Dirk Kennedy, guitarists Jim Bacchi & John Kristen, along with new bassist Greg Bier, who replaces the late Michael Buccellato, Hittman sound hungry once again and ready to dive back into the heavy metal landscape with renewed vigor and some great new material. Destroy All Humans contains eight new songs, and at 43-minutes is fairly economical and to the point. The title track kicks things off in fine fashion, a brooding, thumping metal number with potent vocals and plenty of riffs, while Kennedy shows off his still powerful vocal pipes on the melodic, mid paced cruncher "Breathe". "The Ledge" adds in loads of atmosphere and some proggy touches (think more recent Queensryche and Fates Warning) as does "Code of Honour", the layers of guitars quite well structured and Dirk soaring to the heavens. The pummeling, galloping "Total Amnesia" follows, another fast paced number that will take you back to the bands late '80s/early '90s heyday, and the twin guitar harmonies, spooky keyboards, and metallic riffing drive the moody "1000 Souls", another song that brings to mind Queensryche, Fates Warning, and even Iron Maiden. After the catchy headbanger "Out in the Cold", the album concludes with the lengthy "Love, The Assassin", another stellar song with some incredible progressive metal tendencies, including some killer drumming, big bass grooves, and tasty guitar work.

In summary, Destroy All Humans contains a wealth of great, classic heavy metal, from a much missed band that we can safely say are now back in a big way. Don't miss this one!

Track Listing
1 Destroy All Humans 7:32
2 Breathe 4:20
3 The Ledge 4:28
4 Code Of Honour 5:20
5 Total Amnesia 4:18
6 1000 Souls 4:00
7 Out In The Cold 4:28
8 Love, 'The Assassin' 7:45

Added: December 18th 2020
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 277
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by