Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hendrix, Jimi: Live in Maui (CD/DVD)

Live in Maui is a 2CD & DVD set that documents the Jimi Hendrix Experience and their performance in Maui, Hawaii on July 30, 1970. It's the first 'official' release of this historic event, the band playing two sets outside in front of a small audience with the specter of a volcano behind them, camera crews capturing parts of the performance for inclusion in the psychedelic film Rainbow Bridge. Though the film has gone down in history as a bit of a drug addled disaster, the bands performance was top notch, and the shame of it all was how good Jimi himself was here seeing as in a few short months he would be gone from the world.

Included in this set are 2 CD's containing the audio of the entire performance...thankfully the recorders were running for the entire show, something the camera crews failed to replicate. As the documentary on the DVD reveals, the crew only filmed a small portion of the entire performance, just enough to make sure they had some Hendrix footage for the Rainbow Bridge film and a little extra. As it stands, due to the high winds that day in Maui, the audio for Mitch Mitchell's drum tracks were not usable, and Mitch had to go and replicate his drum parts in the studio to make the audio tracks and what little film they had complete. So, while there is a good sampling of video from the show, don't expect the whole show, but what's available is good. The audio portion however is excellent, the band on fire and cranking out early Experience classics, some Band of Gypsys material, and newer songs that Jimi had been working that were planned to be recorded for a future album. "Hey Baby (New Rising Sun)", "Hear My Train A Comin'", "Spanish Castle Magic", "Villanova Junction", "Ezy Rider", "Straight Ahead", "In From the Storm", "Purple Haze", "Voodoo Chile (Slight Return)" and many others are represented here, and Jimi's guitar playing is absolutely scorching throughout.

The digipack is kind of odd as it has flaps that open outwards & upwards to reveal where all the discs are housed, and the booklet (which is excellent) doesn't have a place to nestle into, but otherwise this is a great set and a killer latter period performance by one of the great acts in rock 'n' roll history.

Track Listing
Disc one
1. "Chuck Wein Introduction" (spoken, no music) 1:47
2. "Hey Baby (New Rising Sun)" 4:33
3. "In from the Storm" 4:26
4. "Foxey Lady" 4:40
5. "Hear My Train A Comin'" 9:26
6. "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)" Drum solo 7:12
7. "Fire" "Sunshine of Your Love" 3:43
8. "Purple Haze" "Star Spangled Banner" 4:32
9. "Spanish Castle Magic" 4:16
10. "Lover Man" 2:42
11. "Message to Love" 4:21
Total length: 51:34

Disc two
1. "Dolly Dagger" 4:49
2. "Villanova Junction" 5:49
3. "Ezy Ryder" 5:05
4. "Red House" 6:40
5. "Freedom" 4:21
6. "Jam Back at the House" 8:21
7. "Straight Ahead" 3:03
8. "Hey Baby (New Rising Sun)" / "Midnight Lightning" 4:52
9. "Stone Free" "Hey Joe" 5:44
Total length: 48:44

Added: December 16th 2020
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 187
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by