Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Gallagher, Rory: The Best Of Rory Gallagher

The blues never go out of fashion and masters such as the much missed Rory Gallagher will never stop being quite rightly revered. Recent releases from the man’s seemingly endless recordings, sessions, live shows and vaults have once more catapulted a guitarist and singer enthused over years ago by Hendrix and more recently by Bonamassa, into the spotlight. Hence, while it may have many similar options for competition, now seems as good a time as any to reveal The Best Of Rory Gallagher.

That said, let’s be honest, the chances of us all agreeing on exactly what constitutes the Irishman’s ‘best’ is minimal to say the least, so let’s just agree that even if your own personal favourites haven’t made the cut, the 30 tracks that have are all mighty fine and worthy a being revisited. I mean, who can fail to be carried away by the sway and swoon of “Daughter Of The Everglades”, a track that is simply timeless. The grittier “Shadow Play” has equal impact but in a completely different way and if a certain Mark Knoplfer didn’t spend hours examining the fret work at play during the verses, choruses and especially the solo here, then I ain’t asking for my money for nothing, or indeed my chicks for free…

The beautifully poised “What’s Going On” gives us a welcome flavour of the Taste days and so does “It’s Happened Before, It’ll Happen Again”, which is straight from the school of Jimi and his experiences. That all of this and the likes of the roots twang and howl of “Out Of My Mind” - which feels like the bridge between the vintage blues-masters and the first Led Zeppelin album - or the tenderly tumbling tendrils of “Edged In Blue”, are all housed on disc one of a double disc (and multi-vinyl) set, simply means that there’s twice us much bang for your lucky buck.

Disc two houses the main reason to dig into the pocket if you’re a Rory fan of old, the outtake of “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” alongside the legendary Jerry Lee Lewis, from the latter’s renowned London sessions, a cool inclusion. However when it arrives along side the likes of “Moonchild”, which has such an irresistibly rhythmic pulse, the rumble and roll of “Walk On Hot Coals” and the almost flamenco boogie of “They Don’t Make Them Like You Anymore” not only does it show this man’s class, but also that he could turn his hand to whatever took his fancy. Add in some of the most innovative and invigorating soloing that you’ll find anywhere and it’s easy to see why the accolades continue to come the way of this much missed talent and the Best Of Rory Gallagher is an excellent way for us all to pay our respects.

Track Listing
1          Taste                           What's Going On (from 1970’s ‘On The Boards’ LP) 

2          Rory Gallagher           Shadow Play (from 1978’s ‘Photo Finish’ LP
3          Rory Gallagher           Follow Me (from 1979’s ‘Top Priority’ LP) 

4          Rory Gallagher           Tattoo'd Lady (from 1973’s ‘Tattoo’ LP)
5          Rory Gallagher           All Around Man (from 1975’s “Against The Grain” LP)
6          Rory Gallagher           I Fall Apart (from 1971’s “Rory Gallagher” LP)
7          Rory Gallagher           Daughter Of The Everglades (from 1973’s ‘Blueprint’” LP) 

8          Rory Gallagher           Calling Card                               (from 1976’s ‘Calling Card’ LP)
9          Rory Gallagher           I'm Not Awake Yet                  (from 1971’s ‘Deuce’ LP)
10        Rory Gallagher           Just The Smile (from 1971’s ‘Rory Gallagher’ LP)
11        Rory Gallagher           Out Of My Mind (from 1971’s “Deuce” LP)
12        Rory Gallagher           Edged In Blue (from 1976’s “Calling Card” LP)
13        Rory Gallagher           Philby (from 1979’s “Top Priority” LP)
14        Taste                            It's Happened Before, It'll Happen Again (from 1970’s “On The Boards” LP)
15        Rory Gallagher           Crest Of A Wave (from 1971’s “Deuce” LP)

1          Rory Gallagher             Bad Penny (from 1979’s “Top Priority” LP)
2          Rory Gallagher             Walk On Hot Coals (from 1973’s “Blueprint” LP)
3          Taste                              Blister On The Moon (from 1969’s “Taste” LP)
4          Rory Gallagher             Loanshark Blues (from 1987’s “Defender” LP)
5          Rory Gallagher             Bought & Sold (from 1975’s “Against The Grain” LP)
6          Rory Gallagher             A Million Miles Away (from 1973’s from the Tattoo LP)
7          Rory Gallagher             Wheels Within Wheels (from 2010’s “Notes From San Francisco” LP)
8          Rory Gallagher             Seven Days (from 1987’s “Defender” LP)
9          Rory Gallagher             Ghost Blues (from 1990’s “Fresh Evidence” LP)
10        Rory Gallagher             Cruise On Out (from 1978’s “Photo Finish” LP)
11        Jerry Lee Lewis ft. Rory Gallagher (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction (1973 outtake from the Jerry Lee Lewis ‘The Session… Recorded in London With Great Guest Artists’ LP)
12        Rory Gallagher           They Don't Make Them Like You Anymore (from 1973’s “Tattoo” LP)
13        Rory Gallagher           Moonchild (from 1976’s “Calling Card” LP)
14        Rory Gallagher           Jinxed (from 1982’s “Jinx” LP)
15        Taste                            Catfish (from 1969’s “Taste” LP)

Added: November 21st 2020
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Rory Gallagher online
Hits: 778
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by