Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Collins, Simon: Becoming Human

A surpassing expedition through the exuberant galactic layers of space of time, breaches the fine walls of humanity in the fourth studio album effort from the previously known for Sound of Contact vocal entrepreneur Simon Collins; embracing the cosmic intuitions of sincere understanding and the universal spectrum of contemporary progressive musicianship. Simon, also a drummer too and son of Rock/Pop icon Phil Collins, initiates his own spin on the cumulative genre with a securely-projected pace and wastes no time in attempting the mass construction of a compelling sci-fi escapade and a moderately-spacey constitution; pushing to ably advance further from his previous solo works into another astronomical realm amongst the surroundings of an auspiciously-structured dominion.

Over the playing time span of Becoming Human, there are numerous pinnacle instances where the appraising uplift of the melodiously-appealing formula breaks through and it pleasantly operates well amongst the multitude of numbers that appear in the midst of this offering, including the elementally-captivating track ‘This is the Time’ and the expeditious grower of ‘The Universe Inside of me’; holding the divergent mixture higher up in the rankings and greeting Melodic Progressive Rock fans with a perfectly-amiable and mellifluously-crafted gesture. Furthermore, astutely sparking up the flames of this delicately expansive record is the memorably-unwinding segment in the form of the self-titled episode ‘Becoming Human’; before genuinely taking flight onto dissimilar avenues through the ark of the mystifyingly written fulfilment and the fanatically-escalating drum programmed installment of ‘I Will Be Waiting’.

Noting the notions of the gathered highlights of Collins’ modern release and experimental output, there are some featureless moments that may take some time to get used to and they undeniably fall flat in the shape and form of individual fragments; gradually expressed through the flatter portions of the featureless ‘So Real’ and the chaotically peculiar over-programmed segments of ‘Man Made Man’. Becoming Human comes with its higher prominence but could be so much more with some extra combined strength and a touch of herculean infrastructure, however on this particular occasion it is just a solid glimpse of what feasibly could arrive on an upcoming excursion from Mr Collins junior; proposing another enterprising feature and dulcetly-auspicious constitution into the Progressive Rock sphere.


  1. Into the Fray
  2. Becoming Human
  3. The Universe Inside of Me
  4. Man Made Man
  5. This is the Time
  6. Thoughts Become Matter
  7. I Will Be Waiting
  8. No Love
  9. Living in Silence
  10. 40 Years
  11. So Real
  12. Dead Ends

Added: November 21st 2020
Reviewer: James Mannion
Related Link: Artist Facebook Page
Hits: 650
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by