Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Visions of Atlantis: A Symphonic Journey to Remember (DVD/CD)

Like most bands Visions of Atlantis plan some way ahead. 2020 was, amongst other things to see the band tour the USA before spending the latter part of the year touring what's left of the EU. Obviously, COVID put pay to all those plans but t-shirts were ordered and paid for, crew were employed, dates were penned in. How to try to recoup the losses? This was probably especially problematic for Visions of Atlantis given that The Deep & The Dark Live at Sym album introduced yet another new line-up to the world in early 2019.

What the band needed was a peg upon which to hang new product and the peg here is that it is the band's first ever live DVD (after nearly twenty years of existence ( and that the recording also features the Bohemian Symphony Orchestra Prague and was recorded at the Bang Your Head Festival. A Symphonic Journey to Remember has something for longer term listeners such as "Lost" which is now a decade and a half old as well as the near decade old "New Dawn" as well as plenty of the newer material which , frankly is excellent. The orchestra really makes its presence felt on the more recent songs such as "Release My Symphony" which is utterly compelling as is the wonderful "Heroes of the Dawn".

Much of the joy of VOA comes from the interplay of vocalists Clémentine Delauney and Michele Guaitoli but special emphasis must go to the rhythm section of the man who is the captain of the band drummer Thomas Caser and Herbert Glos on bass. Solid doesn't quite do it justice, and Christian Douscha grabs every opportunity to shine. There are official videos out there for "Release My Symphony" and "Heroes of the Dawn" to help you decide which version of A Symphonic Journey to Remember you want to pick up to help the band out in these trying times.

Visions of Atlantis are:
Clémentine Delauney - Vocals

Michele Guaitoli - Vocals

Christian Douscha - Guitar

Herbert Glos - Bass

Thomas Caser - Drums

Track Listing:
1. Intro

2. The Deep & the Dark

3. New Dawn

4. Ritual Night

5. Lost

6. The last Home

7. Memento

8. Release My Symphony

9. Words of War

10. Heroes of the Dawn

11. Wanderers

12. Seven Seas

13. A Journey to Remember

14. The Grand Illusion

15. Nothing Lasts Forever

16. Passing Dead End

17. Return to Lemuria

Added: November 19th 2020
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 320
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by