Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Jefferson Starship: Mother Of The Sun

Although Starship continues on under the guise of Starship featuring Mickey Thomas, the announcement of the first release from their forerunner since 2008 and only their second since 1998 is reason for excitement, even if in reality this is more of a seven track EP featuring among its number two similar versions of one song and a live cut from the band’s past. However what the line up of founding member David Freiberg (vocals and much else), Donny Baldwin (drums), Cathy Richardson (vocals), Chris Smith (keys) and Jude Gold (guitars) have done here is to connect with their legacy, with bassist Pete Sears appearing on three cuts, while both Grace Slick and Marty Balin jump in on a couple of tracks to help out with the song writing.

Opening cut “It’s About Time” - a play on words that both alludes to the band’s welcome return and the lack of time we have to alter out treatment of the planet we seem hellbent on ruining - is a big, bold melodic rock hit. Or at least it would have been if it had been released three or four decades ago, what with its upbeat vibe and irresistibly memorable chorus - I genuinely can’t stop singing it! “What Are We Waiting For”, which features in both ‘normal’ and ‘extended’ guise heads down a more shimmering, atmospheric route while containing a similar eco-message and together with “It’s About Time” they really do make for a knockout blow.

Unfortunately it’s not a punch that’s maintained, “Setting Sun” a 60s howl and lament that sounds a little tired, although “Runaway Again” does hit its mark in a slightly more bullish, if still restrained situation. A live take on the Airplane classic “Embryonic Journey”, where Jude Gold conjures some shimmering magic, feels out of place among the studio offerings and impressive though it is comes across as padding. Whereas the croon and swoon of “Don’t Be Sad Anymore” is just too lounge-lazy for my taste.

Uneven though it is, Mother Of The Sun is still a welcome return from a much missed band, at least in terms of studio output. Much of this release might disappoint ever so slightly, but when it’s good, it very good indeed.

Track Listing
1. It’s About Time
2. What Are We Waiting For?
3. Setting Sun
4. Runaway Again
5. Embryonic Journey’
6. Don’t Be Sad Anymore
7. What Are We Waiting For? (Extended version)

Added: October 21st 2020
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: The Jefferson Starship Store
Hits: 552
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by