Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ascension of the Watchers: Apocrypha

“Ascension Of The Watchers” is the ‘’soul without the machine’’

The creative, innovative, legendary and pioneering vocalist, Burton C. Bell (ex. Fear Factory) has released his latest untold vision in the form of his band, Ascension Of The Watchers latest release, Apocrypha. This ambient, melodic, and introspective new release is also quite 'heavy', but in a different way. There are no 'Metal' leanings on Apocrypha, per se, but this IS a heavy record. The darkness and spiral atmospheric textures create a heaviness all of their own, where guitars are used as a tool to paint within your aural spectrum and this indeed creates a heavy and well-orchestrated album.

Sounds on Apocrypha are melodically melancholy and are filled with hallucination, fears, dreamscapes and wonderment. Bell delivers his patented, hauntingly painful and yet glorious vocals never better than on this release. The ambient atmospheres are perfectly suited for Burton C. Bell’s type of expression and reflection. Stirring track’s like “A Wolf Interlude”, “Cygnus Aeon” , “Bells Of Perdition” are complete cinematic expressions and show complete growth of Burton C. Bell, the musician, along with his fellow Watchers.

Another added 'heaviness' to Apocrypha is the punchy and tight production of Jayce Lewis (also the band’s Drummer & Programmer). The drums sound HUMUNGOUS!! And again, Bell’s vocal performances were captured perfectly and they sit perfectly in the mix….eerily wondrous.

Let me get this out of the way, if you are expecting the Industrial bombast that was Fear Factory, you will not find it here. Instead what you WILL find is a poignant exercise in ambient, cinematic, well-crafted song textures that will conjure wistful, somber and self-reflective excitation. Apocrypha is an immense document for the aural senses.

Burton C. Bell - vocals, guitar
John Bechdel -keyboards
Jayce Lewis - drums, backing vocals, programming

Track Listing
1. Ghost Heart
2. The End Is Always The Beginning
3. Apocrypha
4. A Wolf Interlude
5. Honoree
6. Stormcrow
7. Cygnus Aeon
8. Key To The Cosmos
9. Bells Of Perdition
10. Wanderers
11. Sign Your Name

Added: October 4th 2020
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 901
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by