Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Smith, E. Doctor: Trio Electrique

Being a music reviewer, I am exposed to many artists I had never heard of and here is another new fusion release that has caught my attention. E. Doctor Smith is a drummer and electronic percussionist who recently released Trio Electrique this past January. As you might have guessed this is in the trio format; E. Doctor Smith (Zendrum EXP, loops and samples), Edo Castro Woodhouse (7 string basses, loops and effects) and Michele Walther (electric violin, loops and effects).

The music presented here is quite atmospheric and even ethereal at times. The trio uses loops and samples extensively to really enhance the soundscapes. The songs take their time to build as textural layers are added to increase the trippy effect.

The album begins with ”G.S.E.” as a single bass line and snare drum is slowly attended to with the addition of electronics, loops and samples. As the drums get heavier the soundscape builds with clean tones and spacey effects, including some out of this world sounding violin work. On “Walking in the Mud” the crackling of thunder leads to washes of electronics and percussion sounds. It’s kind of ambient and again pretty trippy. The sound picks up a bit when the violin enters and there is some dense layering going on. Another cool track. More trippiness unveils itself in the moody “A Loose Hang” followed by the longest track “Snuck” where loops, electronics and effects produce a pretty cool aural assault. If there is such a thing as a ‘headphone’ album this is it.

Trio Electrique is one of those fusion albums that will best go down in the evening as it is a mostly mellow listening experience, at least that’s when I feel most compelled to listen. And yes, headphones are mandatory.

An Edgetone Records release.

Track Listing:
1. G.S.E. (7:46)
2. Walking in the Mud (7:26)
3. A Loose Hang (3:16)
4. Snuck (10:29)
5. Look Before You Leap (9:37)
6. K3 (8:47)
7. Musa Velutina (4:16)
8. Stanley Adler’s Final Repose (1:27)

Added: September 29th 2020
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 731
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by