Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pain of Salvation: Panther

Daniel Gildenlow and Co. are back with their eleventh studio album (yes, eleven!), this one titled Panther, once again on InsideOut Music. Though Daniel recorded much of the album by himself, the current line-up of the band consists of:

Daniel Gildenlöw-lead vocals, guitars and more
Johan Hallgren- guitars, vocals
Léo Margarit- drums, vocals
Daniel Karlsson- keyboards, guitars, vocals
Gustaf Hielm- bass, vocals

With lyrical content that is all too relevant in today's world, Panther is a moody, often times bleak look at the societies that we all live in these days. The opening 1-2 punch of "Accelerator" and "Unfuture" are both dark, serious progressive metal fare with all the trademark PoS elements, the stop/start staccato riffing, moody atmosphere, the occasional dub-step, industrial synths and drumming, and Gildenlow's intoxicating array of vocal styles. "Wait" and even more so "Keen to a Fault" offer up dreamy soundscapes over which the vocals float in and out of the mix, proggy keyboards bubbling and bleeping with less of a guitar impact, but the results are no less alluring, but the real moment of surprise comes with the title track, "Panther". Here, Daniel drops in some hip-hop styled vocals over trippy electronica and techno/dub-step arrangements, which might be controversial for some, though this band has dabbled in this type of thing before, and the results come across pretty damn good, heavy at times, and tranquil at others. "Species" returns to darker progressive metal musical themes, the riffs elastic and the keyboards symphonic, while the 13+ minute closer "Icon" ends things in style, full of bombast and drama, with layers of vocals, tasty guitar passages, intricate drumming, and soothing keyboard textures.

Perhaps it's unfair to compare Panther to the band's 2017 masterpiece In the Passing Light of Day, but truth be told this latest from Pain of Salvation is another excellent release from them and another fine addition to what has become a highly noteworthy catalog.

Track Listing
6. FUR

Added: September 26th 2020
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1065
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by