Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Uil, Han: Esoteric Euphony

Han Uil is a Dutch musician who began his foray into progressive rock as front man for Antares followed by a stint in the band Seven Day Hunt and more recently he has released two albums as a member of the excellent band TumbleTown. He also has four solo albums to his credit; Alone (2006), Dark In Light (2010), Lawless Local Heroes (2015) and his most recent release Esoteric Euphony (2019).

On his latest album Uil supplies the lead vocals, guitar and keyboards as well as recording, mixing and mastering. He is certainly a man of many talents but he does have some help from the following guest musicians:

Maurizio Antonini (drums)
Peter H. Boer (bass guitar)
Aldo Adema (bass guitar on track 3)
Caroline Joy (vocals on track 1)
Kate Mitchell (backing vocals on track 2)
Esther Ladiges (backing vocals on tracks 5, 6, 7 & 10)

There are ten tracks with a total time of around fifty-one minutes. The disc begins with “Devil’s Night”, an excellent quirky art pop tune with an off kilter arrangement, soaring lead guitar and pleasant lead vocals. The slightly mysterious and darker sounding “We Are United” is both mellow and more intense as the soundscape eases its way to tasty lead guitar and crunchier riffs. The ethereal backing vocals serve to add an underlying moodiness that perfectly fits the track. The guitar is more biting in the melodic but angst laden “The Next Door Bully” and is followed by “Runaway” with its slinky groove, jazzy vocals and fine band interplay. More excellent lead guitar highlights the somewhat poignant “Love And Me”, one of my favourite tracks on the album.

I am very impressed with Esoteric Euphony, a fine addition to the Freia Music catalogue. Recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Devil’s Night (5:13)
2. We Are United (4:51)
3. The Next Door Bully (3:38)
4. Runaway (7:06)
5. Love And Me (5:23)
6. The Storyteller (6:31)
7. Give Me Fire (4:25)
8. Failure (4:08)
9. Chasing Intentions (3:24)
10. A Great Experience (7:14)

Added: September 16th 2020
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 271
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by