Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Diesel Machine: Evolve

The year 2000 saw the crushing debut album, Torture Test from the Metal band, Diesel Machine. The band featured Pat Lachman on guitar (Halford and Damageplan), Singer AJ Cavalier (SOil), Rich Gonzales on Bass and Drummer extraordinaire Shane Gaalaas (Michael Schenker Group, Yngwie Malmsteen, Uli Jon Roth, Vinnie Moore, Cosmosquad, B’z) and after a 20 year absence, they are all back in action with their sophomore release, Evolve. Their debut was compared to bands like Pantera and Machine Head and those comparisons were pretty spot on, but 20 years later, can these guys still deliver the goods?

The answer is YES! This sophomore effort, Evolve, is brutally menacing, just like their debut was and the production by Chris Collier (Korn, KXM, Flotsam & Jetsam) is killer. Songs like the chugging powerhouse “Judgement”, the dirty swagger of “React”, the manic “Shut It” or the Drum-tastic full on assault of the title track, “Evolve”, are not for the faint of heart. This is a mean, “don’t fuck with me” kinda record! If you dig the Pantera Far Beyond Driven era or Machine Head’s Burn My Eyes you will think that you died and went to Metal Heaven.

If you are unfamiliar with the Drum God that is the Alberta, Canada born (Go Oilers!) Shane Gaalaas, good lord does he make everything good, fantastic. The guy is a fuckin’ 8 limbed machine that does things that you’ve only heard done from a programmed Drum Machine and he does it routinely on every project that he’s been involved with. He should already be a Drummer Household name, but don’t take my word for it, look him up on YouTube. People, Shane Gaalaas is The Man!!!!

I was a fan of the debut Diesel Machine record Torture Test when it came out and was blown away by the sheer brutality, the riffing and that God-Damned Drumming and 20 years later, these lads have not disappointed this old fan. AJ Cavalier’s voice sounds awesome (check out the Soil album, True Self that he sings on) and Pat Lachman continues throwing down the Metal Gauntlet of vicious, modern day, HEAVY guitar riffs. The über tight, stalwart rhythm section of Drum Machine, Gaalaas and Bass player Rich Gonzales, makes this one of the heaviest and flat out enjoyable albums of 2020.

The songs are great, the production is great and the performances are equally up to the task. If you are craving a powerfully in your face and brutal Metal album, then look no further, Diesel Machine have delivered it for you with Evolve.

Diesel Machine are:
AJ Cavalier
Pat Lachman
Shane Gaalaas
Rich Gonzales

Track Listing
  1. Death March
  2. React
  3. Exit Wound
  4. Ounce Of Strength
  5. Shut it
  6. Cynical
  7. Judgement
  8. Evolve
  9. Nothing Left
  10. I’m Insane
  11. Anger Within

Added: September 15th 2020
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1113
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by