Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Onslaught: Generation Antichrist

It’s all change and yet exactly the same from UK veteran thrashers Onslaught. Three band members make their studio debut with the Bristol riff bashers here, with guitarist Wayne Dorman and drummer James Perry making a mighty impression on their first foray. However, it’s undoubtedly the introduction of Dave Garnett in place of departing singer Sy Keeler that has captured most people’s interest and, truth be told, caused a little consternation in the Onslaught masses. Keeler maybe only appeared on one of the band’s first three - pre 1991 split - albums, but in 1986’s The Force, there’s no doubt that he made a mark on one of their best. He’d also been an ever present since the 2005 reformation and for many a strong reason for Onslaught’s welcome resurgence.

So, with big shoes beckoning him, Garnett kicks those loafers out of sight with a grating powerhouse performance behind the mic. Harsh and brutal, his attack may, across the album, prove just a little too one dimensional for some, but if uncompromising barks are what you want to accompany a selection of scything riffs and a steamrollering of double kick explosions, then this is your man. And that same analogy can be made for Generation Antichrist itself, with a reasonably short nine song selection making no bones about its intentions as it begins this journey by hammering all in sight and continues to bludgeon unapologetically from there on in. “Religiousuicide” may well be the most full force example, with a classic torrent of guitars from Dorman and Nige Rockett being a glinting vehicle from which the vocals can spit and snarl for all their worth. Underpinned by the excellent percussive display from Perry - who is excellent throughout - and the ever impressive bass booms from Jeff Williams, the weapons Onslaught are wielding with their latest outing are sharp indeed.

Lyrically, cuts such as “Rise To Power”, “Empires Fall” and the insanely memorable “Bow Down To The Clowns” all focus on the current world and the utter insanity it has become, while the title track falls back on some more familiar themes for this genre. Arguably things could have been a little more varied in this department as well and yet underpinned by the thoroughly convincing performances, none of the areas that could have undermined Onslaught’s evolution can out-punch the knockout blow that this veteran thrash act have delivered. Generation Antichrist may not be reinventing, well, anything but why bother when it simply takes some classic themes and destroys everything in sight with them.

Track Listing
1. Rise to Power
2. Strike Fast Strike Hard
3. Bow Down To The Clowns
4. Generation Antichrist
5. All Seeing Eye
6. Addicted To The Smell Of Death
7. Empires Fall
8. Religiousuicide
9. A Perfect Day To Die

Added: September 13th 2020
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Onslaught online
Hits: 522
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by