Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Intelligent Music Project V: Life Motion

Maybe it’s because I received both albums IV and V from the Intelligent Music Project at the same time that even though they don’t feature an identical cast list, by the time I’d spun them both numerous times, I kind of yearned for a few new flavours. If you’ve encountered them before then you’ll know that this ever evolving Bulgarian based but internationally guest star laden project brushes against the prog world as it confidently heads for the realm of AOR. This time the vocals are mainly, but not exclusively, handled by current Rainbow and Lords Of The Black singer Ronnie Romero, although, as with most of the songs in this outfit’s catalogue, nearly every track here features at least a few contributions from other singers too. Previous contributors returning this time are John Payne (Asia/Dukes of the Orient) and Richard Grisman (River Hounds), while Tony Crumpton also lends a vocal hand. For my taste, however, Romero, good though he is, feels a little less of an obvious choice for the style so adherently stuck to by IMP. Yes, this guy can bring a crackingly raw and controlled whip of vocals when the need arises but for me the more understated meanderings he’s asked to front don’t really benefit from the slightly more ebullient style. Sample the pulled in performance from Grisman on “Where I Belong” (admittedly with Ronnie adding ‘ad-libs’) and things feel a little more natural, while for me it’s John Payne who steals the show when he appears on “By The Side Of The Minute” and “The Final Act”.

As we’ve come to expect from this project, the performances (which as ever include drums from Simon Phillips (Toto, etc.) really are of the highest standard and the composing and arranging, while still feeling somewhat safe and expected, can’t really be faulted. However, even from a project that struggles to step out from the shadows of the musical scene it looks to thrive within, Life Motion wants for a real focal point and while I’ve enjoyed every one of the 12 songs on display, there isn’t really one true standout moment.

Track Listing
1. A Kind Of Real Life
2. Don't Let Them Win
3. Where I Belong
4. Letting Me In
5. We Keep On Running
6. By The Side Of The Minute
7. Run Away
8. The Final Act
9. Reflecting
10. Every Time
11. Rising
12. The Things In Your Mind

Added: September 6th 2020
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Intelligent Music Project online
Hits: 592
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by