Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Godscum: The Zodiac Horroscope

With the core foursome having honed their craft in acts such as Form, Sun Caged, Stormrider, Lemur Voice, Speedica, Holy Moses, Dreadlock Pussy and Sons of the Rain, there’s little doubt that Godscum have put the hard yards in before unleashing The Zodiac Horrorscope. Something that’s immediately apparent as “The Great War” roars an album that hits at the heart of thrash, while also adding a heavier bite, into action. Vocalist Steven Tolkamp possesses a seratededly harsh gash of a rasp, his barking expulsions urgent and forceful and with him matched every step of the way by a rhythm section that understands the balance between precision and aggression is one not to be trifled with. Meaning that everything is set for guitarist Marcel Coenen to slam a riff barrage down thick, hard and heavy. He doesn’t waste the opportunity and really, from there, his fret-powers are set to maximum and never once does he allow them to drop. However - and with the album arriving through the Lion Music label, it should be no surprise - what does somehow take you unawares is his virtuosity, with a real shred barrage waiting around most corners as a secret weapon.

The Zodiac Horrorscope isn’t all bludgeon though, “Carnage Angel” a determined stomp that brings a Pantera like swagger into play, although without as much of the innate anger, while “Thy Kingdom” adds a more contemporary groove as the guitars burn and bite. That said, it really is when Godscum let fly that their uncompromising blasts hit home, “For Liberty” finding bassist Jochen Fuenders and drummer Pim Goverde positively smashing their pounding pulsations deep into your chest. Along the way Tolkamp - who may, for some, possibly lack a refined counterpoint to his spitting attack - positively snaps and snarls, with a real refusal to rein in his riotous shouts. As their name suggests, while hardly a black metal band, Godscum are - rather than being anti-God - anti-religion, as they site a whole host of reasons why modern life is a Godless society. Put it all together and there’s a real cohesiveness about both this band and their debut offering.

Maybe just a little too blunt for its own good, there’s no doubting that the weapon welded by this outfit is lethal and that Godscum are ready and willing to use it. As opening gambits go, this is just about as full force as it gets.

Track Listing
1. The Great War
2. NWO
3. The Path of Life
4. Carnage Angel
5. Kill It
6. Drain the Life
7. Ripper
8. For Liberty
9. Thy Kingdom
10. Stand Our Ground
11. Indifferent Eyes
12. Dawn of Eternity
13. Can’t Let You Go

Added: August 10th 2020
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Godscum online
Hits: 660
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by