Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

White Crone: The Poisoner

White Crone is the brainchild of Lisa Mann, a talented musician and vocalist with roots firmly planted in the blues. She has five albums under her belt, all released on her own label. Although she considers herself a ‘contemporary blues artist’ she does not limit herself to that genre. According to the press release metal has also had a profound influence on her musical upbringing. Bands like Iron Maiden, Rush, Metallica, Anthrax, Slayer, Ozzy, King Diamond, and many others are listed as some form of influence. Her early bands were rooted in metal and from there she eventually branched out into blues music. On her new disc, under the pseudonym White Crone, titled The Poisoner, Lisa has gone full bore into her metal and hard rock side, producing eleven tracks of melodic heavy metal music.

The album gets off to a heavy start with the deep groove of “The Dream Of Tiamat”. The vocals are powerful and soaring and both Mann’s guitar and bass are expertly played. More huge bass and guitar riffs can be heard in the title track, an old school slice of heavy metal. The Sabbath influenced doom of “To The Abyss” and the Eastern metal in “Broken” are a couple more great tracks. The slow burning “Interment” is another favourite along with the moody epic metal of “Under Hag Stones”, featuring Vinny Appice on the drum kit.

These songs have the ability to take one back to metal’s glory days, a true ‘comes from the soul’ album where you just know every note played and sung has a meaningful origin, right from the heart. Recommended.

The band is:
Lisa Mann (6 and 8-string basses, 6 and 7-string guitars, vocals)
Larry London (drums)
Guest musicians:
Mehdi Farjami (lead and additional rhythm guitars on tracks 1 and 6)
Vinny Appice (drums on track 11)
Caton Lyles (percussion on track 5)
Kevin Hahn (various pick scrapes and barre chords)

Track Listing:
1. The Dream Of Tiamat (4:04)
2. The Poisoner (3:19)
3. To The Abyss (4:27)
4. Our Sacred Duty (0:50)
5. Broken (4:46)
6. The Seven Gates Of Hell (4:38)
7. New Planet Earth (4:51)
8. Interment (5:35)
9. Edge Of Gone (4:00)
10. Melancholia (2:00)
11. Under Hag Stones (5:00)
12. 18 Rabbit (7:18)

Added: August 6th 2020
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 295
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by