Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Just Jay (& His Sonic Sphere Of Acquaintance): STEPS (1971-2019)

Jay Graboski is likely known to most music fans as a member of the Baltimore eclectic progressive rock band OHO which formed all the way back in 1970. On this latest compilation titled STEPS (1971-2019) Graboski has handpicked his work from a number of bands including OHO, Lunar Merchant, El Sledge+, Food For Worms, Dark Side and many others.

With over twenty tracks and forty-four musicians, spanning forty-eight years you get a lot of variety here including eight OHO tracks beginning with “Bleeding the 5th”, a more recent effort from the band. It’s an interesting track showing the band’s heavier rock side with metallic riffs, solid lead vocals (with hints of Blue Oyster Cult) and mellower guitar breaks, ala Spanish acoustic guitar. Even after all these years OHO still proves to be a creative force. Next is the Grok track “Porcupine Time” complete with quirky musical changes and fine guitar work. On the El Sledge+ offering “Primal Scream” the music ventures from light to heavy shades, quite dramatic with an almost demonic vocal delivery. There are lots of twists and turns here, a truly progressive and adventurous track. “Penultimatum” is another OHO track featuring excellent female lead vocals and a general psychedelic feel. More excellent guitar work and the added horns is a nice bonus. “The Song” has a punk rock/new wave attitude that gets pretty intense while “Slag” is a more traditional ‘70s influenced hard rock tune with soulful lead vocals and a great groove.

That’s just a small sampling of what’s in store when you dive into this album, a fine overview of Graboski’s considerable talent and diverse influences. After all, there are over forty musicians credited, a network of talent spread across many genres. It’s well worth a listen for any music fan who wants something a little outside the box. Recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Bleeding the 5th (3:57) (OHO)
2. Porcupine Time (3:32) (Grok)
3. Primal Scream (6:18) (El Sledge+)
4. Penultimatum (4:02) (OHO)
5. The Song (2:08) (St. Joseph’s Ass)
6. Slag (6:08) (Lunar Merchant)
7. As Good As It Gets (3:47) (The Weaszels)
8. Long To Be Latin (5:05) (OHO)
9. Scared Money (Don’t Win) (2:41) (OHO)
10. Diane (3:57) (OHO)
11. Is That What You Said? (4:12) (OHO)
12. Masculine Intuition (1:59) (Food For Worms)
13. Another Crack In The Jaw (2:43) (Food For Worms)
14. I Won’t Run Away (3:35) (Unyflow)
15. Palisades Park (1:52) (Trixy & The Testones)
16. You Should Envy Me (2:41) (Dark Side)
17. Maiden Voyage (4:13) (OHO)
18. Per Ipsum (2:19) (OHO)
19. The Plague (3:59) (OHO)
20. We Never Wanted This (2:53) (Grok)
21. Laotian Craters (4:07) (Little Hans)
22. Quae Cum Ita Sint (2:34) (Little Hans)

Added: August 1st 2020
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: OHO Official Site
Hits: 1275
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by