Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Bulb: Archives: Volume 5/Volume 6/Orchestral

Way before the band Periphery had become something, Misha Mansoor was already a “Djent” Guitar Internet sensation. Under his online nickname of Bulb, he was a force in guitar circles and to managed to uploaded more than 100 home-recorded demos!

Misha Mansoor is a founding member of Djent/Prog Metal band, Periphery and is one of Modern Metal’s “Forefather’s” of the aggressive Progressive Metalcore genre and has also become one it’s most revered guitar players. Mansoor is slated to release a ten album collection over the next four months, documenting his pre-Periphery, solo project Bulb.

This review will focus on (3) of the “Archive” releases under the Bulb moniker:

Archives: Volume 5
Archives: Volume 6

“Volume 5” - Periphery fans that are unfamiliar with any of these recordings, you will feel right at home. An all Instrumental effort, “Volume 5” starts off our musical “Bulb” voyage with “Coldemark”, a slight little atmospheric Synth chord block that feels like it’s taking a breath and then the Djenty goodness of heavy detuned riffage comes in and takes over. “Füf” is another track that “tricks” you into thinking that it’s taking you down another sedate path, until BOOM, the bombast of thick, off-timed guitar thumping comes in, accompanied with over the top and fantastic drum bashing. What else would you expect from a “Periphery” founding member? Well, skip to “Notes To Self” and you’ll find a beautiful little Piano ditty that is elegant and very Jazz Club like. Nope, I didn’t see that coming either! Volume 5 is a beast of a modern day Djent Metal guitar riff, tour de force. Most songs clock in at under 3 minutes long, with the longest tune being 6:19. This is a fun record that dive into, it’s short and full of great riffs and ideas.

“Volume 6” �" Where “Volume 5” pretty much goes for the throat, “Volume 6” is a bit more laid back and introspective and silly at times. “Volume 6” also features vocals by Bulb himself. The Djent is there, believe me, but songs like “Epic Fail” and “Axe Ultra Test” feature more of Mansoor’s “songwriter side” than his out & out guitar prowess. Where “I Lost My Lunch In My Pants”, kinda gives away the silliness within from the title and the lyric’s won’t let you down. Haha. Need some Heavy? “Tiger 2.0” and “Unleash The Pwnies” will provide your fix and quickly, at that!! Need something a bit more on the atmospheric tip? Check out the very bad ass, “Press Enter”. “Volume 6” is fun, heavy and pretty damn creative.

“Orchestral” - Trekking into the Orchestral territory, Bulb has created music that sounds perfectly themed for imaginary “Role Playing Games” (RPG’s), “Looney Toons” Cartoon’s or maybe an episode of “Game Of Thrones”. The orchestral compositions are absolutely fascinating and there is NO heavy to be found on this one. This is an elegant and very “Adult” album featuring 11 tracks, with the longest at just under 4 minutes long, so there is little chance that one might get bored. I would describe “Orchestral” as a Soundtrack of sorts. Much like an Instrumental Film Soundtrack, where you find yourself lost deep inside the tapestry that has been painted for you and you are just floating along the spatial pathways of the music, that is what this “Orchestral” record feels and sounds like. This is an epic piece of musical styling’s from a Djent Metal Pioneer, absolutely stunningly fabulous!

Track Listing
Archives: Volume 5 Track Listing:
1. Coldemark
2. FF7 Jenova Cover
3. Fuf
4. Inertia
5. Less Than Three
6. Ms. Doppertunity
7. Not Enough Mana
8. Notes To Self
9. Serious Business
10. So Sweet
11. The Focus Hour

Archives: Volume 6 Track Listing:
1. Axe Ultra Test
2. Epic Fail
3. I Lost My Lunch In My Pants
4. Illustrated Groove
5. It’s Modular
6. Legatta
7. Press Enter
8. Ringtone
9. The Good Phone
10. This Sentence Is False
11. Tiger 2.0
12. Tiger
13. Unleash The Pwnies

Orchestral Track Listing
1. Ark One
2. Battle Theme
3. Cold Tour
4. Convergence
5. FF7 Fighting Orchestral Cover
6. Return To Triisgardea
7. The Heros Theme
8. The Last Day
9. The Sequel
10. The Speech
11. Yp

Added: July 31st 2020
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: 3Dot Recordings
Hits: 725
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by