Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mystic Prophecy: Never Ending

From Nuclear Blast, I give you Mystic Prophecy. When reading their attached newsletter, they are listed as being multi-national. Upon visiting their website, I soon learned that both their lead vocalist R. Dimitri Liapakis and lead guitarist Gus G. hail from Greece, while now former drummer Dennis Ekdahl hails from Sweden. As of press time, I was unable to find out where bassist Martin Albrecht hails from. They are all listed as currently playing with other bands in addition to Mystic Prophecy.

What I do know is that I was very impressed with their CD Never Ending. The best way to describe their style of metal would be a mixture of classic, melodic and power metal. I immediately saw similarities to bands like Jag Panzer, Hammerfall, and even Iron Maiden. There were even a few similarities to the guitar playing style of Symphony X's Michael Romeo. While I liked vocalist R. Dimitri Liapakis, there were a few times when he sounded like he was straining a bit. As for guitarist Gus G., one word, amazing!! He simply shreds from beginning to end on this CD, and when you consider that he was the only guitarist on the CD, not counting the bassist Martin Albrecht, he made what could have been an otherwise ordinary recording a great one. Drummer Dennis Ekdahl also did a phenomenal job behind the drum kit. At the present time, Mystic Prophecy has announced that they have added an additional guitarist, Markus Pohl. Also, they have added former Primal Fear drummer Klaus Sperling.

As for Never Ending, just about every song is a highlight. Starting out with "Burning Bridges", this CD is an all out metal assault, which does not let up until song number six, "Never Surrender", which shows Mystic Prophecy's more melodic side. Afterward, they continue kicking butt until the last song, the title track played in the form of a melodic, moody instrumental.

Imagine if they were to focus on Mystic Prophecy full time, I think you would really have something here. Nuclear Blast certainly does. If you are looking to add a new band to your collection of classic metal, look no further than Mystic Prophecy. I am certainly looking forward to Mystic Prophecy's next release.

Track Listing
1. Burning Bridges
2. Time Will Tell
3. Under A Darkened Sun
4. Dust of Evil
5. In Hell
6. Never Surrender
7. Wings Of Eternity
8. When I'm Falling
9. Warriors Of Lies
10. Dead Moon Rising
11. Never Ending

Added: September 12th 2009
Reviewer: Jack Toledano
Related Link: Nuclear Blast Records
Hits: 2557
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Mystic Prophecy: Never Ending
Posted by Pete Pardo, SoT Staff Writer on 2009-09-12 16:24:33
My Score:

****This is a review of the 2009 Remastered Edition from Metal Mind Productions****

Never Ending is the third release from multi-national power metal act Mystic Prophecy, originally released in 2005 on Nuclear Blast and now being reissued and remasted by Poland's Metal Mind Productions. Here, the band still boasted the supreme guitar talents of one Gus G., before he split to contentrate all his efforts on Firewind (and now as member of Ozzy Osborne's band), as well as fellow Greek, vocalist Roberto Dimitri Liapakis, who is one hell of a singer. Not content to deliver your 'run of the mill' speedy power metal, Mystic Prophecy are quite adept at catchy but heavy music, long on crushing riffs, virtuoso guitar solos, powerful rhythms, and soaring vocals. Tunes like "Under a Darkened Sky", "Burning Bridges", and "In Hell" mash your skull much like early Iced Earth or Primal Fear, relying more on power and conviction rather than speed, Gus G's guitar always at the helm providing plenty of crunch and finesse. The bands more melodic side comes out on "Dust of Evil", "Never Surrender", and "When I'm Falling", each song filled with catchy melodies and passionate vocals from Liapakis, but the band also shows they can headband with the best of them on "Wings of Eternity" and "Warriors of Lies", two barnburners that also see drummer Dennis Exdahls attacking his kit like a man possessed. There's also a cool bonus track on this reissue, the Helloween/Gamma Ray influenced song "War In the Sky", a more traditional power metal piece with thumping double bass drums, chugging guitar riffs, and leather lunged vocals.

Metal Mind's remaster sounds great, and the whole package comes housed in a digipack with photos, lyrics, and am essay about the band, once again keeping up with their classy reissue program of metal classics from the last 20 years.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by