Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Stew: People

The Swedish power trio Stew is a recent formation having released their debut EP Hot in 2018. Their first full length titled People came out in 2019 and folks, it’s a beauty. The musicians behind the music are Markus Åsland (bass, vocals), Nicklas Jansson (guitars) and Nicklas Dahlgren (drums). Ripple Music were wise to pick this band up as their music fits the label’s repertoire like the proverbial hand in glove. Late ‘60s and ‘70s inspired bluesy hard rock is what this band excels at and if I were them I wouldn’t change a thing.

The short and noisy “Intro” begins the disc but the album proper really begins with “Right On Time”. A burst of heavy drums and guitar will hit your ears immediately before catchy guitar riffs and lead vocals will snake their way into your subconscious, highly addictive stuff for sure. I’m thinking early ‘70s classic rock so really pick your favourite band from the era and dig right in. The guitar work is blistering, catchy and soulful, just so good and the lead vocals, well, you just have to hear them for yourself. A tasty rock riff and gritty vocals highlight the excellent title track followed by the more bluesy riffage in “Newborn” featuring a powerful and soulful lead vocal and sweet solo electric guitar. This band has an intensity that is hard to come by in the studio. Their live shows must be a real treat. I hear hints of Zeppelin in the rocking “Endless Journey” which includes a nice softer section. The swirling guitar and sublime lead vocals in the psych infused “Goddess” is another favourite as is the slower blues inflected soulful rock of “Afraid Of Getting Nowhere”. The album ending “Morning Again” is a gorgeous acoustic and vocal piece that should absolutely sooth anyone’s soul.

I really can’t say anything negative about this excellent Swedish band. I suppose some might find their brand of ‘70s inspiration unoriginal but I say when the tunes are this good who cares. There is no doubt this band has plenty of heart….and just the right amount of soul. Highly recommended!

Track Listing:
1. Intro
2. Right On Time
3. People
4. Newborn
5. Endless Journey
6. Play The Fool
7. Goddess
8. Afraid Of Getting Nowhere
9. Sweet And True
10. Fruits
11. Morning Again

Added: June 30th 2020
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 784
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by