Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Aversions Crown: Hell Will Come For Us All

I’m not sure if Hell Will Come For Us All is just a really great album title or the official motto for the year 2020. Either way, there’s no denying that Aversions Crown has come up with something really intense, aggressive, and timely. One of the best things about this band is that they seem to improve with every album, pushing themselves in ways that make them heavier and heavier. On this album, the band not only sounds tighter and more focused, but there’s also an extra layer of fierceness to everything. Part of that fierceness certainly comes from the vocal performance by Tyler Miller, the band’s newest member. His delivery is consistently fierce and helps push the band into new and more aggressive areas. Given that this album also explores some new lyrical territory (more on that below) Miller’s vocal style helps introduce these new themes effectively.

If you’re worried that the band’s expanded lyrical palette has changed the band too much, try not to overthink it. The band isn’t tossing out their passion for science fiction in order to scream into the void or just replicate your angriest social media feed. Instead, they are mostly just mixing in songs that address broad topics like war, poverty, natural disasters, and raising children in a dark world. For the most part, these lyrics are thoughtful and provocative and don’t feel like sophomoric editorializing. Besides, the music is so heavy, you’ll probably just get caught up in the sheer energy of it all.

For those really wanting the science fiction, the band does have a treat for you. The title track is part one of a four-part story about someone who experienced a vision from a higher power. That’s pretty ambiguous, I know, but you can get more information by listening to the album and reading the lyrics. What I do know is that the cover art (by master artist Eliran Kantor) is specifically connected to the story.

As for the listening experience, the album is very heavy and very intense. There’s always a risk that songs like this will all sound the same, but the band does a nice job of mixing things up just enough so you can find your place. My favorite track was “Hymn of Annihilation,” but I also dug “Hell Will Come For Us All,” “The Soil,” and “Born in the Gutter.”

Track Listing:
1. The Soil
2. Born In The Gutter
3. Paradigm
4. Caught in the System
5. Hell Will Come For Us All
6. Scourge of Violence
7. Hymn of Annihilation
8. Sorrow Never Sleeps
9. The Final Judgement

Added: June 24th 2020
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Twitter Feed
Hits: 553
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by