Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Siena Root: The Secret of Our Time

For their seventh studio release, Swedish psychedelic/hard rock/prog act continue on with their enjoyable brand of '70s styled music with not one, but two new singers, and both are female. Joining mainstays Love 'Billy' Forsberg (drums, vocals, effects), Sam Riffer (bass, effects), Erik Petersson (keyboards), and Matte Gustaffson (guitars) are Lisa Lystam & Zubaida Solid, and with their addition to the band we hear some different flavors now being injected, but their music of Siena Root stays true to their 'roots'. A host of guest starts on guitar, sitar, and flute are also featured on the album.

Opening numbers "Final Stand" and "Siren Song" sees those always faithful Deep Purple influences popping up, as the fiery Hammond organ and guitars battle it out under some potent vocal exchanges from the bands two new singers, who work quite well together. "Organic Intelligence" powers along with heavy riffs and those soaring Grace Slick styled vocal histrionics, simmering organ and tasty jazz guitar lines adding the right amount of variance, while the slow 'an bluesy "Mender" is an absolute delight, as sultry vocals, organ, and slide guitars create an emotional bedrock for immense ear candy. The wah-wah comes out for the snarling "In Your Head", another tasty slab of '70s styled bluesy heavy rock, and the guitar & organ pair up yet again for the riff-tastic "When a Fool Wears the Crown", seemingly a marriage of Purple, Vanilla Fudge, and Iron Butterfly with Blue Cheer and Jefferson Airplane sitting in on the session. Other highlights here on this red hot album include the bluesy prog of "Daughter of the Mountain", the trippy psychedelia of "Have No Fear", and the blistering Hammond organ blast of the closing heavy rock stomper "Imaginary Borders", which also includes a touch of flute for good measure.

Though it took a few listens to get my brain wrapped around hearing Siena Root with female vocals, once it did The Secret of Our Time left me absolutely filled with so many musical delights. If you love '70s styled hard rock/psych, these Swedes have just what you need.

Track Listing
1. Final Stand (6:09)
2. Siren Song (3:50)
3. Organic Intelligence (3:37)
4. Mender (3:40)
5. In Your Head (4:31)
6. When A Fool Wears The Crown (4:08)
7. Daughter Of The Mountains (5:20)
8. Have No Fear (5:26)
9. Imaginary Borders (6:13)

Added: June 14th 2020
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 1348
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Siena Root: The Secret of Our Time
Posted by Molly Whipple on 2021-07-02 15:36:25
My Score:

It is amazing how well these folks catch the feel of a different era. If you want to enjoy a spot of retro rock today this will totally whet the appetite.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by