Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Arjun, Eddie: Transition

I first became familiar with Eddie Arjun after reviewing his 2016 release titled Gravity. That was a four star effort, a disc loaded with tasty guitar led fusion style rock music. He has followed it up with Transition, released in 2019. Andre Lyles is back on bass along with Michael Vetter on drums, replacing Lamar Myers who played on the Gravity disc.

Like his previous effort the playing is scintillating. This band has great groove and chops, without ever sounding pretentious and overbearing. I suppose proggy blues infused fusion would be an apt description but you really need to hear this trio play as my words will not do it justice. Eddie’s guitar work is simply superlative through all eight tracks.

A fusiony/bluesy opening riff begins the lead off track “There It Is” creating a catchy melody in the process. The tight rhythm section drives the music forward, with just enough power and understated grace. Eddie’s guitar work is all over this one, exploring colourful tones and leads, as the trio displays great groove. Each musician displays true craftsmanship, just listen to those tasty bass runs and let this music take you to a better place. A dramatic drum and riff begins “Core” , then it’s all blues soaked guitar and extended runs. Man this is some great stuff loaded with melody and bite. Arjun has such a tremendous feel for the guitar, it really is something to behold. I even hear a little bit of Hendrix psyche infused in the riffs and soloing. A choppy guitar riff sets the stage for the title track, a more mood injected piece. Love the bass line, biting guitar tone and in the pocket drumming, another groove laid down with near perfection.

That’s really what you get with all these tunes and Arjun’s flights of fancy adding a depth and feel that transcends your typical instrumental rock album.

My only regret is not listening to this sooner. I think this will remain in my disc player for a long time to come. Absolutely essential.

A Pheromone Records release.

Track Listing:
1. There It Is (4:56)
2. Core (5:46)
3. Transition (6:36)
4. Longass (5:27)
5. Iana (0:49)
6. Ascent (5:37)
7. Lavalust (6:26)
8. Gone (7:28)

Added: May 19th 2020
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 520
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by