Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Crypt Trip: Haze County

The Texas psychedelic/retro-hard rockers known as Crypt Trip are back with their follow-up to 2018's Rootstock, this one titled Haze County and featuring nine new compositions from the band. The trio, comprised of Ryan Lee (guitar/vocals), Cameron Martin (drums), and Sam Bryant (bass), are joined on a couple of tracks by special guest Geoff Queen on pedal steel, who adds a country/Southern Rock element to the few songs he appears on, giving some added variety to Crypt Trip's hard hitting '70s sound.

Things kick off with the Marshall Tucker Band-meets-Flying Burrito Brothers styled instrumental, Queen's pedal steel flying about the mix in twangy fashion, before the band come back with the heavy "Hard Times", a groove laden, bluesy hard rocker with bashing drums, booming bass, and plenty of slashing lead guitar solos. A similar approach is felt on "To Be Whole", Martin's acrobatic drums driving what is a majestic Wishbone Ash influenced hard rocker, followed by the tasty "Death After Life", another crunchy hard rocker that again brings to mind the great Ash, as well as the Jeff Beck Group, Cactus, and Grand Funk Railroad. "Free Rain" is a rollicking boogie rocker that will appeal to fans of Status Quo and Foghat, while the melodic, textured "Wordshot" brings to mind the great James Gang, complete with funky rhythms and plenty of stinging guitar, Queen's pedal steel again making an appearance for some country rock flavors. He's also featured on the brief tracks "16 Ounce Blues" and "Pastures", two more rootsy numbers, before the album concludes with the raucous closer "Gotta Get Away", which is chock full of fat rhythms and savage wah-wah guitar licks, with Lee's vocals sounding not unlike the great Randy Bachman from BTO & The Guess Who.

Haze County is another fun, enjoyable slice of retro hard rock from Crypt Trip, who are doing a fine job of keeping the spirit of the '70s alive and well. Don't miss this one!

Track Listing
1. Forward 01:55
2. Hard Times 04:50
3. To Be Whole 04:16
4. Death After Life 04:38
5. Free Rain 04:31
6. Wordshot 04:21
7. 16 Ounce Blues 02:00
8. Pastures 01:49
9. Gotta Get Away 06:08

Added: May 10th 2020
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1180
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by