Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hidden Lapse: Butterflies

Hidden Lapse is an Italian progressive metal band that has been around since 2011. It took a while but they released their debut album titled Redemption in 2017 and have followed it up with their 2019 release titled Butterflies. In the band are Alessia Marchigiani (vocals), Marco Ricco (guitars, keys and vocals), Romina Pantanetti (bass) and Alessio Monacelli (drums).

This is a solid unit with very tight musicianship as well as some finely crafted melodies. The riffs are crunchy and catchy and the keyboards are well placed, nothing flashy but very well played. The vocals of Marchigiani are excellent and she doesn’t sing in the operatic style that seems to be so common these days but has a more earthy delivery and can really belt out the notes when called upon. The opening track “Dead Jester” is an energetic tune with fast chugging guitar riffs and solid male/female lead vocals. The hook laden chorus reeled me in almost immediately. Razor edged guitar riffs and moody piano give “Third” a cool but heavy sound and the galloping riffs in “The Letter 0” are certainly worth a listen as are the excellent male and female vocals. A pretty keyboard intro begins “Stone Mask” where another catchy chorus and melodic lead guitar await. Perhaps my favourite track is “Dust” with its gorgeous and slightly melancholic piano melody, tasty guitar and talking male and female vocals that somehow fit the atmospheric mood. The bonus track “Silent Sacrifice” ends the disc with powerful riffs and another catchy vocal performance.

Butterflies is an album that should appeal to fans of catchy progressive metal and even melodic metal. There will certainly be some crossover appeal within the metal genre.

By all means check this one out, I am really digging it.

A Rockshots Records release.

Track Listing:
1. Dead Jester
2. Third
3. The Letter 0
4. Stone Mask
5. Glitchers
6. Grim Poet
7. Sleeping Beauty Syndrome
8. Cruel Enigma
9. Dust
10. Silent Sacrifice (Bonus Track)

Added: May 8th 2020
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 701
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Hidden Lapse: Butterflies
Posted by werw on 2022-12-05 13:24:29
My Score:

[ghost writing](

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by