Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Matera, Joe: Electric Wire

Australian guitarist and music journalist Joe Matera has racked up an impressive CV in bands such as Geisha, Double Vision and also handling six-string duties for Steve Harley when the Cockney Rebel played a series of acoustic shows in Matera’s homeland. More recent times have seen the now solo artist concentrate on his guitar instrumental output and it’s that side of things that Electric Wire, a collection of ten of the best of the axe-slinger’s compositions, shines a light on. Available for the first time in digital form, the selection of cuts presented here not only highlight the diversity of the guitarist’s output but also what a marvellous touch and tone he possesses. The mainman himself likening his style to that of Joe Satriani, Gary Moore and Hank Marvin - a diverse selection of influences, I think you’ll agree but it’s also a pleasingly accurate one, what with the innovation of the former, feel of the second and innate musicality of the latter evident throughout.

Not satisfied with that Matera has also enlisted the assistance of a talented and again varied selection of guests, with Venom Inc man Tony Dolan adding bass to four of the cuts. The Angels Rick Brewster shows up on ‘Face Off’ and ‘No Way!”, the latter of which finds the blending of sharper and smoother tones to offer real counterpoints on a track, which like most of the offerings here, is clever enough to keep its message short and decidedly memorable. Fred Mascherino, known for his time with Taking Back Sunday and The Color Fred adds real energy to “Endless Summer” with his rock n’ roll vibe sitting perfectly within Matera’s uplifting outlook. Add in Mick McConnell from Smokie helping to create a beautifully poised melodic edge - and some wonderful harmonies - to “Slave To The Fingers” and thankfully Matera doesn’t just rely on his guests for a little added star-billing but instead incorporates their style into his own seamlessly. And therein lies the strength here, because no matter the setting it’s the musicality of Matera and his ability to make his instrumental fare feel song based that makes “Slide” hugely engaging, “Face Off” an intriguingly laid back aside and “Guilty Pleasures” a slice of Satch inspired goodness.

Guitar instrumental albums may never really have been in vogue, however when they’re done well the results really can be spellbinding. Joe Matera, with this impressive collection of heartfelt offerings, again proves to be a master of the art and boy can he play those electric wires!

Track Listing
1. Slave To The Fingers
2. Slide
3. Terra Firma
4. Outland
5. Face Off
6. Brave New World
7. No Way!
8. Endless Summer
9. Guilty Pleasures
10. Hit The Ground Running

Added: May 3rd 2020
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Joe Matera online
Hits: 675
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by