Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

7 Miles To Pittsburgh: Revolution On Hold

7 Miles To Pittsburgh is a Netherlands' band consisting of Joris Lindner (guitars), Remco van Zandvoort (keyboards), Dirk Bruinenberg (drums), Andrew Elt (vocals) and Martin Helmantel (bass). Andrew was the leader of the 80’s rock band Sleeze Beez while Martin played keyboards for the progressive rock band Elegy for almost twenty years. They have a couple of albums to their credit; their 2017 self-titled debut and their latest titled Revolution On Hold.

I find it interesting a band from the Netherlands would have a name referring to the city of Pittsburgh but am unsure of any band connection to that American city. Hey, they just might have thought it’s a cool sounding name. But I digress, let’s talk about the music.

This has really been a fine discovery. If you like melodic hard rock with ‘70s and ‘80s influences look no further than Revolution On Hold. There are no weak tracks here. Solid guitar riffs and melodic leads with tasteful keyboards adding just the right amount of colour to the soundscape. Nothing flashy, just honest to goodness catchy hard rock.

The disc begins with the grooving aggressiveness of “Bad Enough”, a real melodic rocker with ripping guitar and organ trading licks and wonderful lead vocals. Elt’s voice fits this music like a glove, absolutely on point. The semi-distorted swirling guitar riffs and tasty background keyboards in “Olympus” and the super catchy chorus of “I Feel Your Pain” are more outstanding moments. The catchy pop rocker “God Only Knows” delivers a knockout punch earworm while the proggy-ish “Time” has more of those swirling guitar sounds that I really dig.

Revolution On Hold is really a superlative hard rock album that would do great on FM radio if given half the chance. This band deserves more attention so do yourself a favour and check them out. Highly recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Bad Enough (4:52)
2. Olympus (4:32)
3. I Feel Your Pain (5:44)
4. Sound (4:45)
5. Think (4:33)
6. Brave New World (4:52)
7. God Only Knows (5:10)
8. Time (4:40)
9. Only A Fool (4:48)

Added: May 2nd 2020
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Facebook
Hits: 538
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by