Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Reaper X: Rise

There haven’t really been that many UK thrash bands that have managed to make a serious impact on the scene but with their second outing Rise, Corby based Reaper X are undoubtedly looking to alter that fact. The short instrumental track “Death Resurrected” gets the journey underway and as intro’s go it’s a strong effort and much less throwaway than many a band achieve with this type of album opening. However it’s the furious guitar solo and gritty, grinding hammer smash of “Blood In The Air” that truly turns the head.

There’s no revolution here, this is thick riffed beat ‘em up thrash that’s going for the throat and asking questions later. However, with a resurgence in this sound coming from many a classic US act, maybe now’s as good a time as ever to turn the ignition on the bandwagon? After all, the staccato guitar blaze of “Reaper” would happily stand up to the likes of Testament or Death Angel and while those acts were undoubtedly forging the weapons that the likes of Reaper X are now looking to take into battle, this band can stand proudly in defiance alongside them.

Scott Austin barks and snarls but his vocal attack is controlled and assured and while his clean approach on “Adrift” is maybe just a little too isolated to truly convince, that the band have the bravery to include such a stark turnaround on this album shows a level of confidence that you might not expect. That said it’s the full on twin guitar assaults from Drew Reilly and Mark Innocent, such as “Fury In Flames” or the clever closing crescendo of “Noose”, that remain this band’s established habitat.

Pulsating with aggressive energy and unafraid to proudly follow in some mighty big footsteps the UK’s Reaper X have not only reminded us of the potency of pure old school thrash but also that it doesn’t have to come from this sound’s natural home to utterly devastate.

Track Listing
1. Death Resurrected
2. Blood in the Air
3. Reaper
4. Fury in Flames
5. Adrift
6. Diplomatic Solution
7. Rise
8. Red Menace
9. Noose

Added: April 14th 2020
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Rise @ Sliptrick Records
Hits: 811
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by