Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Kornmo: Svartisen

Having recently reviewed the latest disc from Norwegian progsters Kornmo I was looking forward to hearing some previous work. Well, it’s now time for their 2017 debut album titled Svartisen.

Like their latest disc, Svartisen reveals a dark and moody version of symphonic progressive rock. Softly flowing keyboards form the gentle intro in the album’s first track “Snø”. Both keyboards and guitar work in tandem to create a delightfully dark sound. Eventually the guitar adds some heft including a ripping solo. Organ is quite prevalent as well. The beautifully somber “Nordlys” features lovely acoustic and electric guitar as does “Istind”, showcasing some dramatic organ. The melody is a bit sad but absolutely gorgeous. On “Stillhet” lovely guitar and synth/organ adds some dramatic touches to what is a real symphonic prog gem. You will find this same quality of progressive rock throughout the album's eleven tracks, there really are no weak ones in the bunch. As such, Svartisen is easily recommended for any purveyor of symphonic/melodic progressive rock.

Track Listing:
1. Snø
2. Nordlys
3. Istind
4. Stillhet
5. Havørn
6. Smeltevann
7. Fallvind
8. Uvaer
9. Snøtind
10. Haredans
11. Føn

Added: April 10th 2020
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Facebook
Hits: 741
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by