Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mater Thallium: Mirroring Whirlwinds

Norwegian progressive rock band Mater Thallium which I first became familiar witrh upon reviewing their 2014 effort. The band has released three albums thus far: Mater Thallium (2013), Abandoned By The Sun (2014) and Mirroring Whirlwinds (2019). The music on their latest platter is quite dark and somber, having that certain feel of the north country. This is a very dynamic disc, sometimes dense and almost suffocating, other times more feathery light, a contrast between light and dark. I should also point out the record is produced by Rhys Marsh, a name some of you may be familiar with and a big plus in my book as I enjoy most everything he has been involved with.

The disc begins with “Mirrored Whirlwinds”, an adventurous tune with haunting organ, mellow acoustic guitar, full bore assaults into heavy prog and varied lead vocals. I must say I really dig Petter Falk’s voice. The smooth and gentle flow of “Familicide” is interrupted by crashing rhythms signifying the disturbing and dark nature of the lyrics. This is not a happy story but you will have to read the lyrics for yourself. Lovely acoustic guitar and both female and male vocals give “Fading Faces” a rather dark aura while “Suffer The Undead” is a mixture of unsettling prog and folk sounds. One of the heaviest tracks is “Regaining Sanity” where doom laden guitar riffs intermingle with distorted percussion and layered synths. It’s both hard rocking and incredibly creative.

I am just so impressed with Mater Thallium. Yes, this is dark music with lyrics just as dark but I found myself listening to it again and again. The sign of an excellent album.

An LL Records release.

Mater Thallium is:
Petter Falk (lead and backing vocals)
Håkon Markussen (acoustic and electric piano, synthesizers, pump organ, backing vocals)
Erik Andås (bass guitar and backing vocals)
Geir Venom Larzen (drums and percussion, acoustic and electric guitars, backing vocals)

Track Listing:
1. Mirrored Whirlwind (6:44)
2. Familicide (5:10)
3. Desolation Throne (6:04)
4. Fading Faces (5:00)
5. Womb Raiding (6:30)
6. Suffer The Undead (5:44)
7. Regaining Sanity (6:04)
8. Plaintive Recurrence (4:04)

Added: April 8th 2020
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 411
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by