Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Commander Cody And His Western Airmen: Live From The Sunbanks Festival Electric City, Washington 2018

No longer with his Lost Planet Airmen, Commander Cody was leading a crack troop called His Western Airmen when the foursome took to the stage at the Sunbanks Festival in Electric City, Washington in 2018. Alongside him were bass playing/singing Tim Eshliman, who the Commander had been working with on and off for some 40 years, Sean Allen, who while maybe best known for his pedal steel work, here plays the electric guitar and sings - a lot. Leaving drumming duties to Steve Barbuto, a man who has been rearguard for Commander Cody groups for some 25 years now and here he also, for the very first time, sings “Don't Let Go”. In the liner notes Commander Cody gives this incarnation of his band high praise indeed, saying ‘I think this is the best album I've done in 45 years and I hope you'll agree… just basic rock and roll from the ozone.”

Now, I’m no Cody expert but who am I to argue with the man himself? After all, if you’re looking for high kickin’, finger lickin’ good times by way of a rompin’, rollin’ country rockin’ set of songs, then they don’t come much better than this. Surrounding himself with great musicians finds the Commander himself in great form but often it’s the surging fret burning from Allen that lifts boogie wonders like “Hurry Babe” into a four minute party you hope will never end.

As with all of the best live albums, what comes across strongest here is just how much fun the band are having and whether that’s through the twang-a-dang of “Ain’t Nothin’ Shakin’ But The Leaves” or the energetic boot up the jacksy of “One Of Those Nights”, not getting carried along by the whole experience is nigh on impossible. Proudly boasting that there’s been no frills and no overdubs added, the performances are faultless throughout as they give the (a little too low in the mix) crowd a seriously good time.

As all the best live albums do, Live From Electric City leaves you wishing that you’d been there to witness the night in question. Unfortunately we can’t all be that lucky, so let’s just be thankful that someone had the foresight to capture this performance so we can relive it whenever we want.

Track Listing
1. One of These Nights
2. House of Blue Lights
3. My Girl Josephine
4. Don’t Let Go
5. What’s the Matter Now'
6. They Kicked Me Out Of the Band
7. Oh Momma, Momma
8. Hurry Babe
9. Ain’t Shakin' But the Leaves
10. Truck Drivin' Man
11. Boogie Woogie

Added: April 5th 2020
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Liberation Hall Records on facebook
Hits: 732
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by