Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Kornmo: Vandring

Kornmo is a Norwegian progressive rock band whom I had previously been unaware of. In the band are Nils Larsen (bass), Anton J.R. Larsen (drums, percussion) and Odd-Roar Bakken (keyboards, guitar). I first heard the name Bakken as he is a member of the prog band Adventure. He is also a member of the band Morild along with Nils Larsen. These musicians are certainly keeping busy releasing some quality product and the same can be said of Kornmo’s latest disc titled Vandring.

The music has that moody Scandinavian sound, sometimes dreamy but also heavier at times. The soundscape is quite dark, which is not a surprise but I wouldn’t label this music as depressing. Introspective might be a word that fits and rest assured the musicianship is superb and the melodies are a main focus. After the pleasing melody of “Demring” the band really let it all out on “Oppbrudd”. Wonderful playing all around as the band takes you on a wondrous journey through a variety of keyboard laden soundscapes including some nice synth and organ solos. The guitar work is also excellent, whether cleanly played notes or heavier riffing and more fiery fretwork. This band really goes for the gusto on this one, even adding some pretty acoustic guitar with a folky vibe. The tempo changes are numerous but the band manages them with ease, never sounding clunky or out of place. The third track “Vemod” begins with some introspective piano keyboards soon joined with slowly played bass and organ giving a more grandiose feel. You can really get lost in the flow and melody on this one. The acoustic and electric guitar also works beautifully here. With “Nord” the band starts out restrained and mellow with gentle guitar and wistful keyboards before organ joins, the music slowly building as layers of keyboards and guitar increase the intensity. A jaunty keyboard and bass figure begins “Nunatak” which is soon interrupted with complex drumming and dramatic organ and guitar. The song veers in many directions offering stellar guitar and keyboard work throughout.

Vandring is an excellent progressive rock album and one that I will be listening to for a long time to come. Highly recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Demring
2. Oppbrudd
3. Vemod
4. Nord
5. Nunatak
6. Taiga
7. Kveld
8. IId
9. Aske
10. Föniks

Added: March 22nd 2020
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Facebook
Hits: 326
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by