Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Schulze, Klaus: Le Moulin De Daudet (reissue)

I'll break it to you gently: Le Moulin De Daudet is a soundtrack by KS (what his fans call him) which totals close to two dozen pieces, eleven of which are two minutes or under—and a lot more milk before meat. To be blunt, a lot of this just isn't that interesting. I hear the voices cry out: Say it ain't so! Oh, c'mon. Every great artist has their share of duds. Tangerine Dream has plenty. Even Goblin tarnished a nearly spotless record with the drab, forgotten 1982 [studio] album, Volo—but Claudio Simonetti's not on that one, is he? (Actually, Claudio was off dabbling in mainstream dance music, and he managed to drag Fabio Pignatelli and Walter Martino into the goings-on, too!)

Look, these aren't hopelessly nondescript incidentals, but stuff like "Garden & Youth" is ready for airtime in an art gallery, while "Mother Sadness" would suit a funeral parlor. Likewise for "Exodus," though those sampled harp glissandos are coolly slick. "Second Church Sequence & Organ," "Paradise & Inferno" and "Finale" are a little more intense, more orchestrated. "Le Petit Dauphin I" a little more flavorful. But KS' palette here is entirely digital and consists of piano and sampled choirs (not Mellotron) and orchestral instruments, so it's easy to imagine this music could have come from any other's hands—even the piano lines sound ad-libbed.

No, the real reason to own this is KS' inclusion of a sixteen-minute bonus track called "The Ion Perspective." This is a newer composition done for the 2004 Frankfurt Music Fair: sixteen minutes of signature Schulze with shifting textures, percolating timbres, bouncy percussion, and vocoder—it'll pass you by before you know it.


1. The Beginning / The Delegates (4:04)
2. Mother Sadness (3:00)
3. The Loss Of The Factory (1:59)
4. The Youth (1:46)
5. Friday's Departure (0:49)
6. The Mill Of Maítre Cornille (1:47)
7. Maítre Cornille In The Fields (1:08)
8. Folk Dance (1:28)
9. The Discovery Of Maítre Cornille's Secret (1:49)
10. Joy Of Maítre Cornille / Garden & Youth (Reprise) (3:15)
11. Landscape / Way To The Old People (2:38)
12. Old People's Piano (3:24)
13. Old People's Farewell (2:01)
14. Exodus (4:52)
15. Le Petit Dauphin I (5:27)
16. Le Petit Dauphin II (1:34)
17. First Church Sequence (1:57)
18. Second Church Sequence & Organ (6:56)
19. St. Pierre (2:16)
20. Paradise & Inferno (5:54)
21. Finale (4:56)

Bonus Track:

22. The Ion Perspective (2004) (15:58)

Total time – 79:09

Added: April 5th 2005
Reviewer: Elias Granillo
Related Link:
Hits: 2570
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by