Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Barre, Martin: Live in NY (CD/DVD)

Legendary ex-Jethro Tull guitarist Martin Barre has been out on his own with his solo band away from Ian Anderson now for many years, playing original instrumental rock material as well as covering some well-known Tull classics to audiences all around the world. A year or so ago Martin and his band stopped at Daryll's House in Pawling, New York for a rousing set in front of a small, intimate group of fans for what is now being released by Purple Pyramid/MVD as Live in NY, a 2CD & DVD set which includes the entire performance. Joining Barre on stage were guitarist/vocalist Dan Crisp, bassist Alan Thompson, and drummer George Lindsay.

The show is a spectacular mix of Tull classics, Barre originals, and a few splendid cover songs. Original, muscular instrumental rock songs like "Hammer", "Back to Steel", "Moment of Madness", and "Misere" work so well in the set, and allow for plenty of Barre guitar histrionics, as he cracks out riff after riff, solo after solo on his trust PRS guitar through a Soldano head and Marshall cabinet, his tone just absolutely monstrous. Of the Jethro Tull fare, you'll be treated to hard rocking versions of "To Cry You a Song", "Locomotive Breath", "A New Day Yesterday", "Teacher", "Minstrel in the Gallery", "Sweet Dream", "Thick as a Brick", a rousing "A Song for Jeffrey", and many more, with Crisp providing vocals and even participating in some stunning twin-guitar duels with Martin. A hot rendition of The Beatles classic "Eleanor Rigby" is performed, as well as a crushing version of the Porcupine Tree gem "Blackest Eyes", easily the biggest surprise in the set.

Though it's a DVD, the video quality is near hi-def/Blu-ray quality and the sound is spectacular, ready-made for your home theater system. In the end, you'll be amazed at the still-formidable guitar chops of Martin Barre, easily one of the most underrated players of the last 50 years. Don't miss this one!

Track Listing
Disc 1:
1. Hammer
2. To Cry You a Song
3. Minstrel in the Gallery
4. Steal Your Heart Away
5. Back to Steel
6. Love Story
7. Misére
8. Eleanor Rigby
9. Sweet Dream
10. Rock Me Baby
11. Thick as a Brick
12. Blackest Eyes

Disc 2:
1. Skating Away (On the Thin Ice of a New Day)
2. Crossroads
3. Martin’s Jug/Hymn 43
4. Bad Man
5. A Song for Jeffrey
6. Moment of Madness
7. Teacher
8. Fatman
9. A New Day Yesterday
10. Locomotive Breath

Added: February 26th 2020
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist Facebook Page
Hits: 240
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by