Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Future, Steve: 7 Cities

Steve Future is a Swedish musician, mostly known for his harmonica playing, who has been around for several decades having released his debut album First Take in 1994. Since then he has released several albums, both full length and EP. His latest release titled 7 Cities contains tracks taken from three recent EPs; It Takes Time, Four Cities and The 9 Others.

Future and his stellar cast of guest musicians have made an album completely different from my usual Swedish fare of mostly progressive rock. This disc firmly rests in the blues rock category and it is an excellent album. The easy going “Bananas & Diamonds” kicks things off with a smooth bluesy mid-tempo groove. The vocals are excellent, both lead and backing and the upfront bass makes for a deep bottom end. On “Blue Heron” the sound is heavier blues rock with superb guitar work throughout courtesy of Björn Uhr and Björn Melin. The ripping blues solo is particularly noteworthy along with some impressive slide guitar. The pretty “Waterfall” hits a mellower note with light and airy flamenco acoustic guitar and tasty reggae chords. Future plays all the instruments here demonstrating his prowess on multiple instruments. With “Civil War” Future goes old school country, including adding a considerable twang to his vocals. The acoustic picking and harmonica are again very nice. The sound on “Railway Layers Daughters Blues” is bare bones blues, getting to the heart of Future’s true passion. His harmonica solo is excellent here.

Apparently Future has toured North America, unbeknownst to me. I will certainly be on the lookout now that I am aware of just how talented he is. Check out 7 Cities, its sound is both diverse and infectious and completely real.

Track Listing:
1. Bananas & Diamonds (3:22)
2. Blue Heron (4:17)
3. Waterfall (2:45)
4. Civil War (2:05)
5. Railway Layers Daughters Blues (2:25)
6. Don’t Mean Nothing (2:50)
7. Trinity (1:40)
8. Black Water (5:00)
9. Future Kids (3:00)
10. Brand New Day (3:29)
11. Rat Poison (4:47)
12. Blended (4:18)
13. Keyhole Massacre (3:13)
14. Steal The Water (3:45)
15. Burning Wheels (3:34)
16. Boned Rock (3:34)
17. Woman In Panoramic (4:06)
18. Blue Volvo (Berlin) (5:00)

Added: May 12th 2020
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 930
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Future, Steve: 7 Cities
Posted by Michael Popke, SoT Staff Writer on 2020-05-12 09:00:00
My Score:

Known for his poppy blues-rock songs, Steve Future is a veteran of the Swedish scene, but he might still be an unknown name elsewhere. For the uninitiated, 7 Cities, an 18-track compilation of three EPs (It Takes Time, Four Cities, The 9 Others), serves as an ample introduction to this unconventional singer-songwriter, guitarist and blue-harp virtuoso. Recorded at famous studios in London (Abbey Road) and Germany (Hansa Studios), as well as studios in Sweden and the United States, these songs bounce with vigor -- even though a few of them clock in at only around two minutes each. Future is joined by journeyman rock and metal drummer Bobby Rondinelli on the lively and slightly proggy “Brand New Day,” and Neville Brothers’ bassist Dean Zucchero shows up on the dark blues tune “Rat Poison.” On other tracks, Future is backed by flexible musicians and backing singers who add dimension to the traditional blues-rock template.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by