Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Revolution Saints: Rise

Rise is the third release from melodic rock trio Revolution Saints, another of the many 'supergroups' on the Frontiers Records roster whose members sport plenty of musical pedigree, in this case with acts such as Journey, Night Ranger, Damn Yankees, Whitesnake, Dio, The Dead Daisies, and Burning Rain. On Rise, Jack Blades (bass, vocals), Deen Castronovo (drums, vocals), and Doug Aldrich (guitar), along with special guests Alessandro Del Vacchio (keyboards, backing vocals) and Lunakaire (guest vocals on "Talk to Me") have pumped out 11 new songs brimming with hooks, tasty guitars, soaring vocals, and tight instrumentation.

As with this first two albums, the formula here on Rise is early/mid-'80s Journey, thanks in part to Castronovo's stunning 'Steve Perry-inspired' vocal delivery and the general catchiness of these songs. While Deen sang some lead vocals from time to time when he drummed for Journey, with Arnel Pineda at the microphone he was really needed behind the kit. Though he's still pounding the skins in fine fashion here, he sings the bulk of the vocals, with Blades also helping out on a few tracks as well. "When the Heartache Has Gone", "It's Not the End (It's Just the Beginning)", "Price", and "Talk to Me" are driving, melodic hard rock songs, jacked with hooks, stellar vocals, and plenty of fiery guitar from the always impressive Aldrich, who can riff & solo with the best of them on his trusty Gibson Les Paul. While I wouldn't classify any of these songs as overly 'heavy', "Million Miles" does rock hard, thanks again to some crunchy & snarling riffs from Aldrich, and "Win Or Lose" also has some meaty licks to go alongside some thumping rhythms and Deen's powerful vocal delivery. This guy can flat our sing folks, and he shows a more tender side on the albums few ballads.

For those who crave well crafted, memorable & melodic hard rock fare, you'll surely get a lot of mileage out of Rise, an album brimming with quality songs, tasty playing, and outstanding vocals. An easy recommendation.

Track Listing
1. When The Heartache Has Gone
2. Price To Pay
3. Rise
4. Coming Home
5. Closer
6. Higher
7. Talk To Me
8. It's Not The End (It's Just The Beginning)
9. Million Miles
10.Win Or Lose
11.Eyes Of A Child

Added: February 3rd 2020
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1753
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by