Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Serious Black: Suite 226

The German-American-Swedish Power metal, Serious Black featuring the great Urban Breed (vocals), Bob Katsionis (guitars), Dominik Sebastian (guitars), Mario Lochert (bass), Jan Vacik (keyboards and orchestra) and Alex Holzwarth (drums and percussion) have released their new studio album, Suite 226 (AFM Records).

Suite 226 features more melodic guitars with catchy hooks and riffing and is a concept album about the story of a witch and a lot of magic. Suite 226 also tells the story of a mentally confused man who is torn between his own reality, a dreamworld and the evil. Suite 226 takes you on a journey between heaven and hell, laden with lush melodies and a more mature songwriting approach. This concept album begins with a heavy opener in the killer, “Let Me Go” and then the equally killer, “When The Stars Are Right” and then slides more into the Melodic Hard Rock/Metal realm.

Urban Breed (one of my personal favorite Metal singers of the past 25 years) is in good form, although much more subdued than I expected him to be. He still sounds great, but the soaring and powerful vocal takes that he is known for are now more spotty and reserved. This is not quite the Urban Breed of the Tad Morose days, but he is still quite excellent. A track like the title cut, “Suite 226”, finds Breed in top form, as well as the entire band. This ending track also clocks in at over 8 minutes long and ties up the epic concept story that is this 4th album.

Serious Black run in-between that fine line of Metal and Melodic Hard Rock with their brand of heaviness and catchiness on Suite 226. Things never get 'cheesy' and they are still capable of bringing 'the heavy' and overall they do a solid job of finding a place in the middle of both. Fans of Melodic Hard Rock/Metal should enjoy this new release from Serious Black.

Track Listing
01. Let Me Go
02. When The Stars Are Right
03. Solitude Étude
04. Fate of All Humanity
05. Castiel
06. Heaven Shall Burn
07. Way Back Home
08. We Still Stand Tall
09. Come Home
10. Suite 226

Added: January 22nd 2020
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 907
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by