Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Issun: Dark Green Glow

Issun is a German progressive rock band who also delves a little bit into progressive metal. The band formed around 2015 and released their sophomore album titled Dark Green Glow in 2019. The band also made available on CD their first album recorded in 2015 titled Roots! Bloody Roots!.

The band’s bandcamp page states the album is “billed as a conceptional horror story set in a mysterious dark green forest.” The album information doesn’t contain lyrics and I must profess to not focusing on that part of the album although the lead singer does sing in perfect English and has a tuneful and melodic voice. Okay, on to the music.

First and foremost there are some great melodies found throughout the album’s sixty-nine minute running time. The lead vocals are really nice and at times very expressive and emotional. There are also some pretty piano parts and the band definitely has a poppier side. They are really good at displaying different moods and when the need arises the music can get pretty heavy with some great riffs adding meat to the bone. The first track “Think I’ll Stay In Bed Today” is a gentle piece flowing smoothly with serene vocals and pretty acoustic guitar and piano. The second track is “Lost Generation” and its where the band begin to show their progressive side. The lighter verses with piano and pleasant vocals are balanced with a heavier chorus highlighted by meaty guitar riffs. The vocals throughput are outstanding and is one reason this band stands out from so many others. More tasty guitar can be heard on the catchy “Falling Away”, a classy slice of progressive rock/pop which also highlights some nice builds and keyboard orchestrations. For progressive rock fans the seventeen minute epic “Tempest Of Laughter” will likely be a highlight and for good reason. Moments of moody ambience (flittering sounds of nature and piano) are contrasted with heavier guitar parts where the band bring out their more intense prog side. It’s all glued together with an absolutely stunning vocal performance. Elements of prog metal and hard rock are incorporated seamlessly. At times the band ACT came to mind, most notably in the vocal arrangements.

Dark Green Glow has proven to be quite a stunning release. Had I gotten to this earlier it easily would have made my year ending ‘best of’ list. Highly recommended.

Band members:
Tobias Schröder (vocals, keys, percussion)
Marc Andrejkovitson (bass)
Markus Ottenberg (guitars)
Simon Schröder (drums)

Track Listing:
1. Think I’ll Stay In Bed Today
2. Lost Generation
3. Falling Away
4. Sleep In The Forest
5. Tempest Of Laughter
6. Twilight Forest
7. Dark Green Glow
8. Jessica
9. Remember Me
10. Even

Added: January 20th 2020
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 945
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by