Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Brothers of Metal: Emblas Saga

The first thing I noted upon receipt of Emblas Saga was the record company's assertion that Brothers of metal can be categorised as below:

Genre: Power Metal
FOR FANS OF: Sabaton, Powerwolf, Manowar

To some extent I can see why they might be on the edge of the power metal genre and that fans of Sabaton, Powerwolf and Manowar might dig them but they aren't really in the same paradigm when push comes to shove. Yes, some of the songs and certainly the band's image are as pompous and bombastic as the aforementioned bands and yes, the double-kick drums make themselves known but Brothers of Metal are creating their own niche with this, their second album after the excellent Prophecy of Ragnorok.

I found Prophecy of Ragnorak to be a bit of a grower and not all of Emblas Saga is wholly immediate but there are some definite fist punchers available as good entry points. I said to somebody earlier this week that I have a gut feeling that there is more of a focus on the ethereal voice of Ylva Eriksson which is certainly the case of the opening segment of the title song as well as "Weaver of Fate" and the closing tune "To the Skies and Beyond". When the guys take over the vocals there's a hint of Amon Amarth in there which isn't surprising given the Nordic nature of the lyrics. In particular the fantastic "One" benefits from having the male vocalists having first dibs on the verses before Ms Eriksson brings the chorus home. Surely they have to make an OTT video for this epic call-to-arms?

Perhaps it is something in the water in Falun (also hometown to Sabaton) but hooks aplenty abound on Emblas Saga alongside a fulsome production which is nice and rich. "Powersnake", "Kauaz Dagaz", "Njord" and "Brothers Unite" are all total bangers and I have no doubt that this band of brothers and sister will be moving towards the top of festival bills and headline tours pretty soon.

Track Listing:
  1. Brood Of The Trickster
  2. Powersnake
  3. Hel
  4. Chain Breaker
  5. Kauaz Dagaz
  6. Theft of the Hammer
  7. Weaver Of Fate
  8. Njord
  9. Emblas Saga
  10. Brothers Unite
  11. One
  12. Ride Of The Valkyries
  13. To The Skies And Beyond

Added: January 19th 2020
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 232
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by