Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Midnight: Rebirth by Blasphemy

I posted a few lines about the single release of “Rebirth by Blasphemy” a few weeks ago. I didn’t end up saying much about the song since I figured I’d review the whole album when it came out. And yet, I wanted listeners to know that new music was on the way and that Midnight was finally signed to Metal Blade�"some 32 years after sending an original demo.

Success is fickle and nobody really knows the formula for catching it and holding onto it. For those who are worried that Midnight’s increasing success will spoil things, they shouldn’t sweat it. Athenar’s tastes haven’t changed and his raw and hooky style sounds just as homegrown as you’d expect. And, as always, Athenar played all the instruments and recorded the whole album in his beloved home of Cleveland, Ohio.

As for the album, things start off with the bang and boogie fans expect. The good news is that Midnight never wastes time. There are no dramatic pauses or overly long atmospheric sounds. There are only catchy guitars, steady downbeats, and raw vocals. Of all the tracks, “Rebirth by Blasphemy” will sound the most familiar. It’s been in some of our heads for several weeks and the opening lead guitar sounds ever so slightly like it’s riffing on the James Bond theme. If you like “Rebirth by Blasphemy,” I’d suggest digging deeper into the album and discovering tracks like “The Sounds of Hell” or “You Can Drag Me Through Fire.” I don’t know that deep cuts get much attention, but both of those songs are catchy and cool and represent Midnight’s signature sounds perfectly. I’d also suggest “Escape the Grave,” mostly because it was written early and because Athenar thinks it’s a bit more positive than the rest of the album. I’m not inclined to think about Midnight’s overall moods. To me, it all sounds like a brooding romp through earth and hell. Still, “Escape the Grave” does provide some hope in a crazy world.

If you like Midnight, you’ll dig this album. I’ve you’ve never heard Midnight, you’ll enjoy this album. If you don’t care about anything, you’ll love this album.

Track Listing:
1. Fucking Speed and Darkness
2. Rebirth by Blasphemy
3. Escape the Grave
4. Devil’s Excrement
5. Rising Scum
6. Warning from the Reaper
7. Cursed Possessions
8. Raw Attack
9. The Sounds of Hell
10. You Can Drag Me Through Fire

Added: January 11th 2020
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 888
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by