Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Alan Davey's Psychedelic Warlords: Captain Lockheed & the Starfighters Live!

Here we have another Hawkwind spinoff band, and also another one led by former bassist/vocalist Alan Davey, the Psychedelic Warlords, and their new archival live release Captain Lockheed & the Starfighters Live!, recorded live at the Underworld in Camden back in 2014, captures the band performing Bob Calvert's (another Hawkwind alumni) 1974 classic Captain Lockheed & the Starfighters in its entirety. The band here includes Alan Davey (bass, backing vocals, synths), Craig High (lead vocals, sax), Zole Green (keyboards), Billy Fleming (drums), and Simon Wilkins (guitars).

While still very much in the style of classic Hawkwind, Calvert's Captain Lockheed & the Starfighters had a strong punk feel, something the Psychedelic Warlords really honed in on and got right here throughout this live set. Though there are 14 tracks, six of them are brief, almost spoken word pieces that bridge the gap to the more raucous, longer space rock/hard rock/punk styled songs. Cuts like "The Aerospaceage Inferno", "The Right Stuff", "The Song of the Gremlin (Part 1)" (complete with some terrific guitar work), "The Widow Maker", and the manic "Ejection" certainly bring the energy, each filled with bulbous grooves and those hard rock, jazz, and space rock elements that made Calvert & Hawkwind's music so unique. High does a great job of channeling Calvert's vocal flair, though this style, very British & theatrical, will obviously be an acquired taste for some.

Apparently the Captain Lockheed & the Starfighters album has never been performed live, so Alan Davey's Psychedelic Warlords officially became the first to do so. Bob Calvert & Hawkwind fans will certainly want to investigate this fun live album.

Track Listing
1. Franz Josef Strauss, Defence Minister, Reviews the Luftwaffe in 1958 Finding It Somewhat Lacking in Image Potential 01:16
2. The Aerospaceage Inferno 04:02
3. Aircraft Salesmen (A Door in the Foot) 01:42
4. The Widow Maker 04:19
5. Two Test Pilots Discuss 00:42
6. The Right Stuff 05:04
7. The Song of the Gremlin (Part 1) 05:20
8. Hero with a Wing 04:28
9. Ground Control to Pilot 00:50
10. Ejection 05:00
11. I Resign 00:39
12. The Song of the Gremlin (Part 2) 05:38
13. Bier Garten 00:17
14. Catch a Falling Starfighter 02:46

Added: January 4th 2020
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 471
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by