Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Grant the Sun: Sylvain

Grant the Sun is a Norwegian Trio formed by members of Insense and Beaten To Death, and they have a new EP out entitled, Sylvain and it just happens to feature the legend that is Fredrik Thordendal from Meshuggah, who plays bass on all four of these tracks.

This 4 song EP clocks in at under 19 minutes filled with sledgehammer, Swedish Death Metal-like, groove heavy riffing. If you are a Groove-laden, Prog Metal fan, then you will love this instrumental EP. Did I mention that Thordendal was on this?!

The songs are sophisticated and have a slight ‘Suggah poly-rhythm in there a little bit (not that there’s anything wrong with that!) and their construction and the ride that “Grant The Sun” takes you on is a fantastic one. There is a density within these 4 tracks that will make you play them over and over, it made me do so!

If you want a 'slightly' more straight ahead 'Meshuggah' flavor without vocals and only want to spend 19 minutes doing so, then Grant The Sun have just the thing for you with this Sylvain EP. Like Instrumental Prog Metal with a heavy groove? Then THIS is a record that you will instantly love!

Track Listing
1) Dans l´Espace
2) Tempête d´Astéroïdes
3) Arrivée Dangereuse
4) Sur Jupiter

Added: December 24th 2019
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 971
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by