Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Lang, Yogi: A Way Out Of Here

For quite some time now Germany’s Yogi Lang has been fighting the good fight, releasing some great music with his main band RPWL. Besides his main gig Lang has helped out fellow band mates Kalle Wallner and Chris Postl on their projects Blind Ego and Parzival’s Eye and in 2010 released his first solo album No Decoder. Nine years later Lang his back with his sophomore effort titled A Way Out Of Here.

If you enjoy accessible modern progressive rock with more than the occasional nod to Pink Floyd and of course RPWL, you will want to hear this album. As I have often noted the Floyd are my favourite band so any time I hear their influence it's usually to my liking. I am also a fan of RPWL so this would appear to be a win win and that’s precisely what it is. What you get is melodic and catchy progressive rock, consummately played by a veteran group of outstanding musicians. And of course you also get Lang’s laid back vocals, sometimes reminding me of David Gilmour. Female backing vocals are also smartly used and more Floyd references can be heard.

The first track “”Move On” offers up a tasty keyboard solo and moody yet dramatic guitar riffage with a wonderful guitar solo thrown in for good measure. The chorus is catchy and the vocals, both lead and backing are excellent throughout. Shimmering keyboards begin the title track with the guitar having a bit of a funky/bluesy feel, very crisp and loaded with feel. The soaring and dreamy “Shine On Me” might be the most poignant tune while the acoustically led “Freedom of the Day” is likely the most uplifting track, both musically and lyrically. More excellent guitar work can be heard on the Floydy “Love Is All Around” and the vocals on the deliciously languid groove of “Don’t Confuse Life With A Thought” are superb.

Yogi Lang has really upped his game with A Way Out Of Here. One of the best discs to make it into my CD player this year.

A highly recommended release courtesy of the Gentle Art Of Music label.

Track Listing:
1. Move On (9:28)
2. A Way Out Of Here (5:30)
3. Shine On Me (5:45)
4. Don’t Confuse Life With A Thought (4:30)
5. Love Is All Around (4:35)
6. Freedom Of The Day (4:20)
7. Early Morning Light (6:25)
8. The Sound Of The Ocean (4:30)
9. I’ll Be There For You (5:20)

Added: December 23rd 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 875
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by