Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Baker, Norman: Staying Blue

The lead singer of The Reform Club -- a quirky and very English pop-rock band -- goes his own way on Staying Blue, Norman Baker’s first solo album. This collection of 11 eclectic, laidback blues, country, jazz and folk songs opens with a sea shanty in which Baker sings about lying in bed waiting for a lover. His whiny, nasally style might give you a jolt if you’re not familiar with his voice.

From there, Baker and his band navigate an enjoyable set of tunes -- most of them co-written by Baker and guitarist Duncan Campbell. They reflect simpler times both culturally and musically, while showcasing ukulele, trumpet, sax, bouzouki, mouth harp and even a recorder.

This is by no means essential, but Staying Blue works as an unexpectedly pleasant change of pace in your listening rotation while also serving as a reminder that Angel Air is more than just a British reissue label.

Track Listing:
1. Shipping Forecast
2. Nice and Loose
3. It Cuts No Ice
4. Lowdown Blues
5. The Man in the Moon
6. The Woman in Grey
7. Slipping Through My Fingers
8. Bell Bottom Breeze
9. The Belly of the Beast
10. Just Stay Blue
11. Perhaps

Added: December 21st 2019
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Norman Baker on Angel Air
Hits: 240
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by