Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Aurora Project, The: grey_world_live

The Aurora Project is a progressive rock/metal band hailing from The Netherlands. They formed around twenty years ago and released their debut titled Unspoken Words in 2005 followed by; Shadow Border (2009), Selling The Aggression (2013) and World of Grey (2016). In 2017 the band went on tour to support World Of Grey. This forms the basis of their new disc grey_world_live, recorded on April 7, 2017 at Parkvilla Theatre, Alphen aan den Rijn, the Netherlands. On the album the entire World Of Grey disc is covered along with a couple of other tracks. Three tunes form their Selling the Aggression album are only available via download which I have not included in the track listing.

The songs are faithfully executed although the band does take the occasional opportunity to extend a couple tracks beyond their original running time, but by only one or two minutes. I did not do a track by track comparison with the studio version so this review is solely based on what I heard on these live versions. This album is in a word…excellent. The band’s chops, emotive vocals, moody soundscapes and overall sonic detail come through in every track. With “Circles In The Water” the guitarist displays some lovely Gilmour inspired lead work and as such the sound is quite Floydy. ”Expect Us” features tasty guitar riffage and an almost pop-like hook. Then moody guitar and fast paced drums bring on the progressive metal. An emotive and crystal clear lead guitar begins “Warmongers” making for a trippy and hypnotic intro. The riffs get edgier as the soundscape ventures into heavy prog territory.

A couple of nice acoustic tunes include a “Alles Is Een”, a version of “The Event Horizon” and the very moody “Nocturnal Lament” with its superb guitar work, both taken from the Unspoken Words disc.

Moody progressive rock is really what Aurora Project is all about and on this live disc they prove to be excellent all around musicians and some pretty good tunesmiths as well.

Another recommended release from Freia Music.

Track Listing:
1. Circles In The Water (9:00)
2. Expect Us (5:53)
3. Warmongers (9:45)
4. Alles Is Een (5:05)
5. Nocturnal Lament (6:05)
6. Stone Eagle (7:01)
7. Deadly Embrace (6:25)
8. Mediapuppets (4:49)
9. World Of Grey (7:10)
10. Dronewars (9:25)

Added: December 19th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 582
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by