Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Toto: 40 Tours Around the Sun (DVD)

Recently we reviewed the 2CD set commemorating Toto's 40th Anniversary concert in Amsterdam, 40 Tours Around the Sun, and here we have the companion DVD containing the full concert in all its splendid glory. Featuring the line-up of Steve Lukather (guitar, vocals), David Paich (keyboards, vocals), Steve Porcaro (keyboards), Joseph Williams (vocals), Shannon Forrest (drums), Lenny Castro (percussion), Shem Von Schroeck (bass, vocals) and Warren Ham (sax, harmonica, vocals), the band tears through a ton of classics and an equal amount of deep album cuts in front of perhaps their most appreciative audience.

With crisp visuals and stellar sound, this DVD is a treat for the senses, the band in top notch form as they celebrate 40 years of music. While of course you'll get treated to the hits, such as "Africa", "Rosanna", "Hold the Line", "Georgy Porgy", "Stranger in Town" and "English Eyes", it's the deep cuts that make this concert all the more special. The hard rocking tunes such as "Girl Goodbye", "Lion", "Lovers in the Night", "Alone", "Angela" and the superb instrumental fit in fine alongside the more pop flavored fare like "Lea", "Spanish Sea", "Stop Loving You", "Make Believe" and of course their sizzling cover of The Beatles "While My Guitar Gently Weeps". Even more fun are the quick little acoustic snippets of such lesser known tracks "Miss Sun", "Human Nature", "Holyanna", "No Love", and "Mushanga", with the three founding members even talking about the early days when the songs were originally conceived and reminiscing with each other, sharing some laughs.

Through it all, killer musicianship & vocals abound, the band seemingly having a great time and the crowd loving every minute of it. Steve Lukather, as always, just puts in a masterful performance on guitar, once again showing why is one of rock's true musical treasures. Word has it that Toto might officially be ready to call it quits after this long celebratory tour, and if that is indeed the case, they've gone out on a high note. Another stellar presentation here by Eagle Vision.

Track Listing
Set 1:
Hold the Line
Lovers in the Night
Spanish Sea
I Will Remember
English Eyes
Jake to the Bone

Acoustic Storytellers:
Miss Sun
Georgy Porgy
Human Nature
No Love
Stop Loving You

Set 2:
Girl Goodbye
Dune (Desert Theme)
While My Guitar Gently Weeps
Stranger in Town
Make Believe

The Road Goes On

Added: December 17th 2019
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1058
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by