Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

TheNightTimeProject: Pale Season

The Swedish melancholy that is TheNightTimeProject was founded by current and former members of Katatonia, October Tide, and Letters From The Colony have released their second LP entitled, Pale Season. Fans of the dreary and glorious somber Metallic tones of Opeth, Katatonia and Anathema with the Proggy goodness of Porcupine Tree will thoroughly dive in deep with this fantastic sophomore release.

TheNightTimeProject have delivered an emotional mixture of vividness that covers a wide spectrum of elements on Pale Season. There is a beauty within the dark and pain that is so serene and calming. From the eerie sounds of the opening track, “Hounds”, the cinematic scene is set. Gentle and emotive vocals combined with darkness and a slow and steady build that rises to a delicate conclusion. “Rotting Eden” brings a Ghost meets Katatonia vibe that is mournful with a soaring vocal and a tight syncopation between guitar chugging and drum pulsation.

Lurid and opaque, “Signals In The Sky”, is the magnum opus on Pale Season. It features a hauntingly radiant vocal performance by Draconian‘s Heike Langhans. Ambient and desolate, “Signals In The Sky”, paints a bleak and cathartic beauty that is within the human psyche. An almost dream state of imagery and textures with a complete haunting elegance.

Simply put, TheNightTimeProject have a brilliant 2nd release here with Pale Season. Within the melancholy, there is a glorious beauty that washes over you, if you allow it to. Those who enjoy a beautiful musical voyage will find plenty to enjoy on Pale Season. Vocals are soothing and atmospheric, guitars and aural effects breath all around in the mix and the drums provide the necessary backdrop of scope of being. You will find yourself listening to this album over and over again. Pale Season is easily one of the most enjoyable albums to come across my ear holes in 2019.

Alexander Backlund - guitars, vocals
Fredrik Norrman- guitars
Mattias Norrman- bass
Jonas Sköld- drums

Track Listing
  1. Hound
  2. Rotting Eden
  3. Binary
  4. Final Light
  5. Embers
  6. Pale Season
  7. Anti Meridian
  8. Signals in the Sky
  9. Meridian

Added: November 25th 2019
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 892
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by