Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dan Reed Network: Slam (remaster)

Released a year after their 1988 self titled debut, Slam was the album that should have catapulted Dan Reed Network to superstardom. So taken with their sound were Def Leppard’s Q Prime management that they began representing the band with the promise of stadium gigs with their star clients, and with similar slots opening for Bon Jovi and The Rolling Stones, surely all that was needed was a few songs with hit potential and then Dan’s yer uncle? Well, no, with Mercury Records in America seemingly at a loss as to how to promote a band that resolutely refused to slip neatly into a genre box, the expected chart success actually saw Slam stumble to only 160 in the US album charts (some 65 places lower then their debut), although it did reach the heady heights of number 66 in the UK. Replete with a production from Nile Rogers, the sonic issues that had allegedly held back the band’s first album had undoubtedly been addressed, with the gritty riff to opener “Make It Easy” leaving no doubt that DRN were now showing their live attitude in the studio.

Also in strong attendance was the funk bump of the insanely catchy “Tiger In A Dress”, while “Slam” itself added a big grinning chorus that simply refused to fade into the night. As on the debut Reed proved to be a hugely engaging vocal presence, with a real potent power punching through the bass heavy grooves while still dripping with melody and emotion. Honestly, it all really should have been the perfect amalgam of hard rock savvy and pop ready hooks to take Slam up the charts and ensure a long term future, and that’s without getting into the class and creativity behind the likes of “Stronger Than Steel”, “Come Back Baby” and, well, pretty much everything else in sight.

With their label still unable to ‘find a market’ for his band Dan did the unthinkable and shaved his head just as the 1991 Slam follow up, The Heat, arrived and rather bizarrely that seemed to find final nails being slammed into the DRN coffin. A ‘best of’ appeared two years later and with that the story was over, Dan Reed Network going their separate ways. Or at least they did until 2012 when the Slam line-up (although Rob Daiker is now playing keyboards) reconvened for some live shows that have now led to a further two, well received, studio albums and copious live shows culminating in a 30th anniversary tour to celebrate the release of what is still seen as this band’s finest moment, Slam.

Good though it is, this remaster doesn’t massively improve on the original releases’s sound - although that maybe says more about how strong this album always was, rather than Mike Showell’s Abbey Road remastering - while, like the reissue of the debut, the lack of bonus tracks, or insightful liner notes is, in this day of top-line retrospectives - a little unforgivable. However, taken purely on its own merits as a collection of top notch rock-funk-pop-soul tinged songs, Slam is pretty much as scintillating as it gets.

Track Listing
1. Make It Easy
2. Slam
3. Tiger In A Dress
4. Rainbow Child
5. Doin’ The Love Thing
6. Stronger Than Steel
7. Cruise Together
8. Under My Skin
9. Lover
10. I’m Lonely, Please Stay
11. Come Back Baby
12. All My Lovin’
13. Seven Sisters Road

Added: November 23rd 2019
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Dan Reed Network online
Hits: 751
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by