Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hate: Auric Gates of Veles

For those who haven’t kept up with Hate, the most important thing to know is that in 2017, the band took a slight turn away from the blistering death metal they’ve been known for since 1990 and began exploring themes connected to Slavonic lore and mysticism. The band’s 2017 release Tremendum kicked off this new trend and now Auric Gates of Veles keeps it going. Since I haven’t kept up with Hate since their 2013 release Solarflesh, the shift took me a little by surprise, but I quickly embraced it as a strength.

Unlike bands that simply revamp everything, Hate is sticking with the sounds that defined them, but their music is honestly a little gloomier and perhaps a little heavier. It’s also more focused. Fans of Hate’s earlier sound won’t be disappointed and I think the band’s shift in emphasis should also win them even more fans. If you listen to this album, you’ll quickly realize that the band is still as relentless as ever, probably even more so. Just listen to Pavulon’s drumming “Seventh Manvantara” (or really any other track). It’s so relentless and intense that it often comes across more as a source of anxiety than anything else. But that intensity is what gives this band its edge.

If you turn your attention away from the drums, listen next to ATF Sinner’s guitars. There are passages on this album that are just as crazed and audacious as the drumming. I really liked the riff on “Triskhelion,” especially the two notes he holds a little longer than the others. If you keep listening, you’ll notice that Sinner also throws in some very cool licks here and there to keep things interesting. Many of his lead passages are easy to miss in light of the drumming, but they aren’t so low that you miss them. Sinner’s tremolo picking is also really impressive. I know that style has been around a long time, but it can still be impressive, especially when played with such relentless energy.

If you haven’t listened to this album yet, I suggest listening to the title track, “Triskhelion,” “Sovereign Sanctity,” and “Salve Ignis.” The whole album is strong, but each of those tracks stood out to me as representing this band at their very best.

Track Listing:
1. Seventh Manvantara
2. Triskhelion
3. The Volga’s Veins
4. Sovereign Sanctity
5. Path to Arkhen
6. Auric Gates of Veles
7. Salve Ignis
8. Generation Sulphur

Added: November 19th 2019
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 539
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by